What's new

Anybody have theJVC i'Art 48" RPTV? (1 Viewer)

Keith_JS

Agent
Saw it at Best Buy yesterday and it had a great picture (the silver cabinet is kinda sketchy though). With the divi inputs it seems to be the closest thing to a future proof HDTV ready set on the market.

On the downside it's a brand new model loaded with innovavtive features and that means that the consumer is the guinea pig-- service techs will be learning the nuances of the set right along with us.

Still there's that great picture...

Does anyone have any experience with this set?

Brandon_S

Second Unit
Keith,
While I have no personal home experience with this model (I work in the video section at Best Buy), one thing you might want to know is the JVC model upconverts all signals to 1080i. Upconversion can introduce artifacts to the picture while watching 480 signals like DVD. I haven't personally tested a DVD player on the TV however. Drop by your local Best Buy and ask them to hook a progressive scan player up to it and see what you think. Then have them hook the same player up to a Sony 51HW40 (this model does 480p). Of course, judging picture quality in Best Buy can be less than ideal :frowning:. Best of luck!
Brandon Smith

dao_d

Auditioning
Hi Keith,
Two weeks ago, I purchased the JVC Iart HDTV av48wp30 and have occasions to compare the picture with a Toshiba 53" HDTV and a SONY 43". As everyone knows, we can be sure of anything when comparing «uncalibrated» TV sets. Still I believe the JVC picture is a little better than the SONY RPTV's one.

When re-calibrating the JVC RPTV with the AVIA DVD, I found that the factory settings are quite «high»(the brightness must be decreased as mush as 60% and the contrast about 50%). After calibration, I also found that the gray scale still have a fainted red tint and the skin color is not quite right. So I will call a professional to re-calibrate it.