Anybody going to develop for .NET ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike St.Louis, Feb 10, 2002.

1. Mike St.Louis

Mike St.Louis Supporting Actor

With the latest version of Visual Studio just days away and a plethora of .NET books in the stores I've been wondering what I'm going to do.

I've been a VB programmer since version 3 and am currently using VB 6. I haven't really embraced the new technologies like COM and such because I haven't needed to and I've been too busy to try and learn it.

I've been looking through some .NET information at the bookstore and the Microsoft site. It is a bit confusing as to what .NET is. From what I can tell it is a platform to develop applications on much like Windows was a platform in earlier versions. Also, many languages can be used to develop for .NET (VB, C++, C#, ASP, etc.).

Any VB apps I have built have been standalone programs that do not even interact with the internet.

Lately I have been developing a lot of interactive websites on an OS X server using PHP and MySQL. I have been able to do quite a lot with PHP/MySQL.

I think of a web based application as web page(s) with forms that connect to a database. Is this what VB.NET will do?

These are the things I'm wondering:

What would VB.NET offer me over PHP/MySQL?

Can VB.NET still be used for standalone apps?

Do VB.NET apps run through a browser?

Any insights? Any takers? Is .NET the future or a bunch of hype?

2. Steven K

Steven K Supporting Actor

Hey Mike,

From what I can tell, .NET is similar to COM (Microsoft's Component Object Model). So if you are familiar with VB, you are probably familiar with Active X controls, which are basically COM objects with an added layer on top of them.

I'm primarily a CC++ programmer, with a little bit of VB. Several of our products rely heavily on COM, so I've taken up COM quite a bit in the past year. I dont know how excited I am about C-Sharp (C#) but, I'm sure that I'll be delving into it before long.