What's new

Any way to fix bubbles in veneer? (1 Viewer)

Wes Nance

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

I did the big piece of veneer on my sub today- sides and top, rounded over the 2 top edges. When I built my sub in the winter, I didn't realize that the way I rounded over would involve bending the veneer against the grain, and it proved to be tough, even over a 3/4" roundover, probably because I used a quarter sawn piece of 10min veneer for the job.

I ended up with several bubbles, some big, some small. I don't think I had the contact cement coverage as good as I had hoped. It worked fine for the flat pieces, but the roundovers have some gaps on each side.

Is there any way to repair/improve things after the fact? I'm not super bummed out, as it will probably still look OK, especially from a distance, and it's my first time out, but if I could make things any better, I'm game for it.

Right now I've got lots of weight on the top to try to get it to stay down, and I'll let that go overnight and see in the morning.

I have a lot more respect for you veneer guys now, especially the roundover guys like Brian and Hank!

I think veneering small bookshelf speakers will be easier, just because it's a smaller project, and I was doing it all by myself. I tried to brush the contact cement on, but next time I'll try rolling for a thicker/more uniform coat. I put 4 brush coats of cement on in some places, like the roundovers, but other parts still didn't have enough coverage, I think. . .

Thanks,

Wes

Chris Tsutsui

Screenwriter
I don't work with veneer alot, is it the plastic kind you're using?

Maybe make some small razor slits where the bubbles are and use a roller where possible.

Will Orth

Stunt Coordinator
Well i seen this on some DYI TV show, sand down the BUMP and find a matching nail hole filler if it loks like a wood finish as they have many touch uos about 10 or so.

of get a piece of the original and piece it in and mask it with some magic..

Will

Wes Nance