Any tips for ambient (non-glare) lighting for my theater room?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by kurt_fire, Aug 29, 2004.

1. kurt_fire

kurt_fire Stunt Coordinator

I have a 51" Sony rear projection HDTV and I want a little light in my theater room when watching TV or a DVD. I need the light to be non-reflective. My TV does have the safety screen on it in.

I have the main light in the middle ceiling of my room which is WAYYY to bright/big to have on while watching TV. My other light is a lamp in the corner of the room that still puts out too much light and just produces an annoying glare on the screen.

How about a little light behind the TV? I'm new to theater lighting so I need all the tips/information you experts can give me. Thanks! I read somewhere about rechargeable candles or something like that for your coffee table? Anybody hear of that?

2. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

I have a small spotlight on top of the set aimed at the wall behind the set, 40-60 watt bulb. My set's in a corner so I have it aimed downward behind the set. One of the GE Reveal bulbs is ideal for this setup.

Even better is a 6500k small flourescent placed on the floor behind the set, hopefully someone will chime in with the correct tube and such for this setup.

Back in the 50s, before tvs could produce very bright pictures, there were lamps produced specifically designed to be placed on top of tv sets and shine on the wall behind the set. They were designed to look like ceramic seashells or something similar from the front.

3. Dylan

Dylan Extra

I use single color christmas lights (e.g. green, purple) either in icicle hanging down behind the TV or plain single string form running along the top of the wall around the perimeter of the room.

4. George_W_K

George_W_K Screenwriter

George
    You could try installing a dimmer switch on your main light so you can dim it to what is comfortable for viewing and have it at full intensity when you need it.