Any thoughts on the T3092?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Drew Bethel, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. Drew Bethel

    Drew Bethel Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.e4me.com/products/product...Machines_T3092

    Lookin' to upgrade the old clunker. With mini-dv tapes and digital pics of my two month old daughter quickly accumulating, I need a machine that can handle the demands of video editing and a digital darkroom.



    Basically, I'm looking for the following

    - a windows machine

    - min. of 120 gigs of hard drive,

    - ram that's expandable to 1 gig, SDRAM, or better yet, RDRAM

    - dvd-rom/rw and cd-rom/rw

    - 2.0+ ghz processor speed

    - 500+ mhz bus

    - 512kb cache

    - multiple usb 2.0/firewire ports



    I don't need a monitor for now. The old big box will have to do until lcds drop to a price that I will bite - which should keep the price of the new machine less that $1k. So far the dell dimension 4600 is the cheapest to fit the bill, but I'm willing to look at e-machines as well.
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That e-machines pc looks pretty good. It doesn't have a firewire port listed, so you'd have to buy a pci card for it (probably about $30) to use your dv camera with it. Also, I'd recommed picking up a 20-30GB hard drive to put your operating system and programs on and using the larger HD for pics, videos and files. Looks like you're definitely on the right track. Make sure not to get a Celeron processor and start out with at least 512MB RAM.
     
  3. Drew Bethel

    Drew Bethel Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Seth. I have a 40 gig/7200 rpm hard drive from a previous machine that I hope can work. I just don't know how I would get all the OS files and programs to that drive.
     
  4. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer
    I was 99% sold on the T3092 myself, but last weekend switched to the following package exclusive to Best Buy from Medion PC's.

    Includes:
    512mb PC3200 memory
    Pentium 4 Hyper Thread
    Sony +/- DVD burner
    800 bus
    3.00 ghz
    Firewire (2)
    9 in 1 reader
    160 gig hard drive
    Lexmark printer
    Battery back up power strip
    Belkin USB cable
    Free Napster stuff
    17" MAG monitor
    great customer service (according to folks who have dealt with them)
    Plus a $70 rebate so the package is well under $850 [​IMG]

    Worth a look!

    See it HERE

    I just went to Newegg and grabbed an extra 512mb PC3200 for $84 and a Leadtek TV card so now I'm totally ready to copy my old analog videos to DVD.

    Here's Medion's site: MEDION
     
  5. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    I bet there's some freeware stuff out there that would copy everything over, then you could format the big one. Also, PowerQuest (makers of PartitionMagic) make something called DriveCopy I think. Otherwise you could simply format it and install everything new on the small drive. It would take some time, but it's probably what I would do (assuming you couldn't find any software).
     
  6. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer
    I bought PC Relocator Ultra when Compusa had it for $20 after rebate and plan to use it to move stuff to my new PC this week.

    It moves just about everything, even programs.

    Worth a look.

    PC RELOCATOR
     
  7. JimmyM

    JimmyM Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would just install the 40GB drive as the main drive and use the recovery discs to "restore" the PC using the 40GB drive as soon as you get the PC. I have an eMachines too, and it restores it to exactly the same state, and in about 20 minutes. Then you can just format the drive that came with it and use that as your storage drive.
     
  8. Drew Bethel

    Drew Bethel Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That PC from BB is nicely spec'd, but I don't need a monitor nor a printer. From my experience, if you don't buy the entire bundle your rebates are severely limited.
     
  9. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer
    The Medion is $850 on it's own. BB stopped the bundle sale for it this week. I got the best deal going with the bundle...$780 for all the above items I mentioned in my first post.

    Alfer
     
  10. Drew Bethel

    Drew Bethel Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>That e-machines pc looks pretty good. It doesn't have a firewire port listed, so you'd have to buy a pci card for it (probably about $30) to use your dv camera with it.
     
  11. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yep. Firewire is just a 1394a (or, I guess now, a/b) controller chip; whether it's mounted on your motherboard or provided by a PCI card, you get the same results.
     
  12. Drew Bethel

    Drew Bethel Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the quick response Chris! [​IMG]

    The T3092 was the editor's choice over at PC Mag. I believe this should be enough for my needs at $600.
     

Share This Page