Any runners out there? re:shin splints

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Karl_Luph, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Karl_Luph

Karl_Luph Supporting Actor

Just thought I'd see if any of the members here are runners & have had problems with shin splints. I usually run about 3 miles a day and have noticed a pain in my lower right leg that runs along the front inside of my calf just above the ankle up to the middle of the calf. It seems the pain is more noticeable along the side of the bone. It doesn't hurt until I have run for about a mile ,then progressively just keeps getting gradually worse. Haven't gotten to the point where I have to just quit running, but I'm tired of this holding me back, as the rest of my body wants to continue going to the 5 mile mark. I have been using a pair of Asics gel 1070 shoes for the past 5 months and bought some Reebok DMX 6 shoes to try out,but haven't seen any improvement. I stretch before I run and walk at least a half mile before running to warmup.Would cortisone injections help, at least to get me through Summer training? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. Angelo.M

Angelo.M Producer

I've struggled with them for years. The only remedy that has made any appreciable difference is that I completely avoid running on sidewalks, which are incredibly hard surfaces. I now do much more trail running and track running. Of course, not all trails are soft (some are as hard as concrete) so you have to choose carefully.

Overall, I'd say that you should vary the surface you run on, and avoid always training on harder surfaces.

Also, don't underestimate the power of a good sock. Thorlo's are my favorite. Make sure you retire them young, and have a fresh pair handy at all times.

Finally, allowing your body to heal between workouts is key. I always give myself a full day between runs.

3. Joe Szott

Joe Szott Screenwriter