What's new

Any recommendations for a 'warm' sounding amplifier ? (1 Viewer)

Samson

Stunt Coordinator
Any recommendations for a 'warm' sounding amplifier ? I was considering the Marantz MM9000. Do you guys have any other suggestions ?

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
define warm...i'd expect any amplifier I bought to have a flat frequency response, wouldn't you? however if its a question of attenuating the high frequencies, then perhaps room treatments are in order as well as speaker positioning.

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Samson, I have limited experience with Marantz amps, but many people consider them "warm" and "musical". By contrast, I have often read that Yamaha amps are "bright". Of course, there is no consensus here, so ultimately, you will have to listen and decide which amp works best for you.
------------------
My:
HT Pics ; Equipment List ; DVD Collection ; LD Collection
KeithH: Saving the Home Theater World Before Bedtime

Marty Neudel

Stunt Coordinator
Samson,
how much are you willing to spend? If the sky's the limit, then I would recommend you listen to the McIntosh Autoformer amps. This series is about the warmest on the market, and includes 2 tube-type amps (although the solid state models are very close in sound).
Marty

Rich G

Stunt Coordinator
Just to show the differences of opinion. I have heard:
Marantz-musical
B&K- on the bright side
Rotel- warm
Yamaha-bright
Adcom-bright side
I have only listened to two of these mfgs amps and found that the tonal qualities of the music had more to do with the speakers being used not the amps. I have to agree with Chu Gai on this. Check your speaker positions and room treatments.
If you are just looking for information to narrow your search, check out the "warm" amps listed and please let us know what you find.
------------------
Rich G.

David Susilo

Screenwriter
If budget is a constraint, try listening to Pioneer Elite power amps. They are MOSFET amps and tube-like sounding

Doug_B

Screenwriter