Any photo/video experts? Help me debunk 'London bombers picture manipulation'

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Juan C, Jul 28, 2005.

1. Juan C

Juan C Second Unit

On another forum, a guy who's very keen on any 'unorthodox' stuff, has posted this:

Was a "Bomber" Superimposed?

Of course, the people who say that have no expertise whatsoever in the field of digital video or graphics. But I'd like an expert opinion on whether their claims have any substantive merit.

2. Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino Lead Actor

Joseph DeMartino
    Oooh, I see it's time to buy more stock in "Tin-Foil Hats'R'Us". [​IMG] Let the lunacy begin!

I'm no expert on photography, digital or otherwise, but I know enough about low-res TV images to know that you can't analyse them the way you would a 35mm print. Even without knowing that much your "unorthodox" correspondent is clearly an example of the "check brain and logic at the door, pick on one tiny anomaly and build huge nit-wit theory" school of conspiracy "thinking".

1. Why would you doctor a still frame to add one out of four suspects to a shot? What would be the point? Are the other three "real"? If not, where are the "flaws" in their images?

2. Why do photo manipulation at all when you can just as easily stage a real picture with actors dressed and made-up to resemble the terrorists? It isn't like any of these pictures are clear enough to make a positive ID of these guys. You could do perfect fakes and not leave any traces for brilliant internet detectives to discover.

3. Didn't the media also get video clips of this same footage? Granted a newspaper can only print stills, and then will probably select only one or two in order to save space, but presumably somebody has also seen the full video. Or was this guy added and blended, pixel by pixel, to the video footage, too?

This only proves that not every nutjob in the world expresses himself with explosives. [​IMG]

Regards,

Joe

3. Dave Poehlman