Any opinions on the Onkyo dxc380 CD changer ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by anthony_b, Sep 24, 2001.

1. anthony_b

anthony_b Screenwriter

Any opinions on the Onkyo dxc380 CD changer ?...I'm looking into purchasing this unit this week, can anyone help a brother out with an opinion ? [​IMG]

2. anthony_b

anthony_b Screenwriter

Anyone please ?

3. Mike Broadman

Mike Broadman Producer

I don't remember exactly, but I did buy an Onkyo disc changer, I think it was the model you listed. I sold it back because I realised that I didn't need a CD changer for my setup, but the player itself was fine, I had no problems for the short amount of time I owned it.

4. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

Anthony, I have very little experience with Onkyo CD changers, and frankly, I haven't read much about them on this site or any other message boards. The names that usually come up in CD changers are Sony, Denon, and Marantz. That is not to say that Onkyo changers are bad. From what I have seen, the build quality is quite good for the price, and the six-disc capacity is unique. I have always felt the remotes could be designed better, as they have very small buttons that are all the same shape. In any event, I have two Sony CDP-CA80ES five-disc carousel changers and a Denon DCM-370 five-disc unit and have been very happy with them. In the end, you ought to just pick up the Onkyo and try it out at home if what you see of it in the store or online appeals to you. If for some reason the Onkyo were not to work out, there are plenty of other choices priced similarly.
    ------------------
    My:
    HT Pics ; Equipment List ; DVD Collection ; LD Collection
    KeithH: Saving the Home Theater World Before Bedtime

5. anthony_b

anthony_b Screenwriter

I'm undecided between the Onkyo unit or for another $50 bucks pick up the Sony es70 changer ?...What do you guys think ?

6. Thomas_Berg

Thomas_Berg Screenwriter

Thomas