Any musicians around here?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by JohnE, Sep 15, 2002.

1. JohnE

JohnE Supporting Actor

OK, I've been playing guitar for close to 20 years. I don't play in a band, but do hang out with friends now and then and jam and drink a few beers.[​IMG]
    Lately I been thinking about expanding a bit and picking up a workstation to mess around with. I'm looking at the Korg Trinity series, but at $1200 and up, I don't know if it's a good investment for a curious beginner. But then again that's how I ended up with a guitar, and I never looked back from that investment.
    Anyone use one of these have any advice? I'm open to suggestions on different models as well. I can afford up to about $1500, but that dosen't mean I want to spend that much.[​IMG] Thanks.

2. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So
    I've played bass for... 8 years (but stopped a few years ago), and i've played guitar for 7 years (im 16 right now).
    Im not very good, becuase i've never had any real lessons, but im pretty decent. I know chords and stuff.
    I'm TRYING to start a band, but my friends who play stuff dont know the kind of music i like to play, so its tough. And my bassist, he's a good friend, but frick, he has no commitment and is always busy. We've practiced once so far, it wasn't TOO bad, but it was far from good. I REALLY wanna get a band going just to perform for the school, or in the area, but like i said, my band-mates dont know the songs very well, and they're always busy [​IMG]
    Anyways, sorry, i just play guitars, i havent researched any, so i can't answer your question. Im still playing on a cheap novice Samick Strat-style guitar and a cheapo no-name 'Vantage' amp. I got a BOSS DS-1 dist pedal i got for my birthday last year though [​IMG]
    Im thnking of selling my old bass, my amp, and my guitar for a new Fender Strat and a Fender amp. I've just got the idea, havent considered it yet.

3. JohnE

JohnE Supporting Actor