Any Model Railroad enthusiasts here?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Eric_L, May 24, 2003.

1. Eric_L

Eric_L Screenwriter

I have a small dilemma. Since a very young age I've had HO scale railroads. I have a reasonable collection of track, cars, etc. Nothing very valuable I believe. Mostly TYCO brand. I've been hauling it around in boxes for about 20 years.

Now my two boys are getting old enough to appreciate it without trashing it. However, there is really no place in my house for a good layout. (8x4 plywood) and the garage gets too HOT.

Now I am considering getting an N scale or Z scale set so I can have a reasonably interesting layout indoors. But then that just wipes out the whole point of 20 years worth of storage.

My preference is toward the smaller ones - it always has been. I just can't bring myself to chuck out the older ones.

Money-wise it is not really an issue. Mostly it is space and sentiment.

What, if any, are your thoughts on this? I'd really appreciate hearing some other perspectives, particularly from model railroad enthusiasts.

2. Grant B

Grant B Producer

Eric
    I have a space problem too.Space in SF is a little expensive and Victorians have small rooms. I collected American Flyer when I was a boy - most were over 20 years old when I got them back then. Now they are over 50 YO and can go into the $1000s.
    S Scale is bigger than HO so I had a real problem. I ended up building a modular layout that splits into pieces. They then store underneath each other in a cabinet that I built with bookshelves.
    Ho would be perfect for a modular layout and there are books and magazines on the subject.
    Another option is a layout that goes around the room and takes up little space. This is what I wanted to do but the wife did not like the idea. She now says it would have been cool.... oh well
    Good Luck and let me know if you have any other questions
    Grant

3. Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt Producer