Any kayaker/canoers out there??

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Dave Poehlman, Jul 22, 2003.

1. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

I just spent a week fishing and biking in the north woods and the couple in the cabin next to ours had a beautiful pair of small canoes that a family member had made for them. I really liked them because of their small size (maybe 8' - 10' in length), they seemed really portable.

I've always been interested in taking up kayaking/canoeing as a hobby and building your own, sounds like a cool way to do it. Anyone ever build their own? Being a noob, however, I'd probably want to buy a beginner canoe. Any suggestions?

2. Matt Gordon

Matt Gordon Supporting Actor

Dave,

I've been kayaking for a couple of years now and have canoeing for a very long time. It's great fun, and a wonderful way for me to get out of the house and take in some peace and quiet.

If you're looking for something small but stable, I'd pick a recreational kayak.

Here is a good informational website to check out:

paddling.net

Here is a decent kayak manufacturer:

kayaker.com

And yes, you can make your own!

3. ChadLB

ChadLB Screenwriter

Dave,
    I just got back yesterday from a 3 day trip up in Ladysmith. Went down the Flambeau River. They have campsites along the river. Great trip with rapids. If you ever get a chance to go up there do it. Just go with some people that have experience canoeing. We did it last year also..it was about 22 mile trip. You can do short/long trips depending on what your plans are. Here is a link to some info: http://www.pricecountywi.net/canoe%2.../flambeau.html

4. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

Thanks for the info guys.

Chad, I was just up in Price county! [​IMG] Phillips, to be exact. I'm not sure I'm prepared for canoeing rapids at this point.. just looking for something I can throw a fishing pole in or maybe paddle the 4yr old around in.