Any info on the new Pioneer 1015 receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Kenneth Harden, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. Kenneth Harden

    Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am mostly interested in a back panel photo.

    I have seen Pioneer's press release, and it looks promising.

    This could be a really great product.
     
  2. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like you are going to have to wait a few months on that one. I can't imagine it being much different from the 1014TX's back panel except with an extra set of component video inputs.
     
  3. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is another picture of the front of the receiver. It looks like the power button has a blue LED.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was going to get the 1014 in a few weeks, but think I wil hold off until the 1015 comes out.
    Could REALLY use the extra Comp. video input.
     
  7. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this still going to have the same if not better internal components as the 1014?
     
  8. Kenneth Harden

    Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback!

    Guess I need to wait and see.

    Could be a great deal.
     
  9. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another update:
    Well this is what some of you have been waiting for.

    Here's a picture of the back panel of the upcoming 1015TX (1015TX is the one on top):

    [​IMG]

    Looks pretty much the same as the 1014TX back panel except for the extra set of component video inputs. The digital inputs and output are also moved from the top left of the back panel to the side just above the coaxial inputs. The unit is still made in Malaysia, so I suspect it is the same production line as the 1014TX. Power consumption is also 480W, same as the 1014TX.
     
  10. Kenneth Harden

    Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!!!

    There are only 4 digital inputs on the back of that unit - that is an sutomatic write off for me. I need one of the DVD player, computer, CD changer (Sony 300 CD changer with POS DAC), and at least one game system. Does not leave me much room to work with.
     
  11. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken,
    Like the 1014TX before it, the 1015TX has a digital input in the front as well, making for a total of 5.
     
  12. Kenneth Harden

    Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Meh, needs to have more on the back [​IMG]

    Thanks for finding the picture!
     
  13. Robert James Clark

    Robert James Clark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    1
    If they improve the component bandwidth from the 1014tx, then this will be a must buy for me...
     
  14. Yung

    Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert,
    Its been mentioned in the past by various forum members that the 40MHz bandwidth on the 1014TX is sufficient to pass HD signals with no degradation. What is more bandwidth going to do for you?
     
  15. Robert James Clark

    Robert James Clark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    1
    Several experts more knowledgable than me have stated that you actually need to have double the bandwidth of an HD signal to pass without rolloff. I'll try to dig up where I read that.

    I've read reports by some users (AVS) that claim some degradation when AB'd with bypassing the component of the Pioneer (though some users have tried to blame degradation for artifacts that clearly weren't the Pioneer's fault).

    Having 3 component inputs is such a plus these days...
     
  16. Ralph B

    Ralph B Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert is right although I can say if you can tell and your eyes are of the six million dollar man than your a special person cause I doubt anyone wold notice any picture problems. [​IMG]


    why dont they make detach cord for these units? [​IMG]


    I seen ym local best buy has 2 VSX-1012's open box but with no box, remote or manual and they want $450!!!! tried to talk with a sales person but no luck. should talk to manager. lower model(although better build than the 1014 and they have open box with everything on the 1014 for $350)and gonna talk to manager about dropping price.


    otherwise 1014 or 1015 for me.
     
  17. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow....they made it uglier [​IMG]

    I just can't stand how it looks like a big block of black lol. The WAF has gotten even lower everybody [​IMG] You guys are gonna have make this purchase when she's not looking

    But I agree that the 3rd set of components is huge. As most of you know, thats part of the reason I can't decide on a receiver myself [​IMG]
     
  18. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    37mhz is needed to pass 1080i. Roll off, thats a good one. GUARATEE you won't notice a difference with 40mhz passing 1080i over component.
     
  19. Hal

    Hal Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still think I can...


    Wolf
     
  20. RyanJE

    RyanJE Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats the one on bottom? I have a 1014 and it looks exactly like the one on top except the 1015 has one extra component.
     

Share This Page