1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Any Help??

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Shajan, May 3, 2003.

  1. Shajan

    Shajan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all.

    I was able to buy a powered sub really cheap from a store going out of business. The sub is one part of the Polk RMDS1 system. According to the sales person, this sub will only work with Polk system. But for $25.00, I thought I'll take the risk.

    The amp for the system(5 channels + sub) is built in the sub. Is there any way I can make a working amp out of its parts? It has a very heavy transformer that impressed me.

    I can take digital pictures of the parts inside, and post it if anyone would like to try to help out.

    Regards,
     
  2. David Preston

    David Preston Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe a administator will move this to the speaker and subs area for you. I don't think they like it if you post in two seperate areas. I'm sure someone over there can help.
     
  3. Frank Mowry

    Frank Mowry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I looked at the specs page for that Polk system. The problem I see with using it with your current setup as a sub is the type of input it uses. Is there RCA input or just the DB-25 input? You would need a way to attach your receiver or amp to the sub.

    Frank
     
  4. Shajan

    Shajan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Frank, thanks for checking it out. It's a 25 pin connector. Polk receiver sends it a proprietary turn on signal.
     
  5. Rob Formica

    Rob Formica Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if they use the standard db25 cable assignments... I know Rotel had then on most of their equipment http://www.rotel.com/support/files/db25-techup.pdf ... I guess you could always test out with a low line level source and some probes. If you only use the built in amp to drive the sub (ie: no satellites hooked up to it) it'll just lighten it's load and improve headroom the way I see it. You may find yourself with the world cheapest functioning sub... [​IMG]
     
  6. Shajan

    Shajan Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rOB
    "You may find yourself with the world cheapest functioning sub..."

    That's what I'm hoping [​IMG]
    I found the preamp inputs, but the problem is, Polk also sends a turn on signal through the db25 cable. I figured out that the signal is 24V, but when I rigged it, I hear the relay click once, and then nothing. I guess the amp is looking for something else.
     

Share This Page