Any DIY'ers in Rochester, NY?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Felix_F, May 27, 2004.

1. Felix_F

Felix_F Stunt Coordinator

To make a long story short, we have an alcove in our family room that's ~50 cu. ft. Having convinced my wife that it would make a great HT sub enclosure (no small feat, believe me) and having imposed on some of my net-friends to help me with the design process, I'm ready to build. The drivers are arriving today, along with the rest of the necessary parts, but I'm finding myself in a bit of a bind. I'm not exactly a carpenter, either by profession or as a hobbyist. Simply put, I have virtually no carpentry skills. Someone was going to assist me with that stage of the process, but due to family obligations he may not be able to after all. So, I'm hoping to find an individual in my area (Rochester, NY) who can either help me build the baffle, or can recommend someone. Naturally, I'm happy to pay for the labor.

Thank you,
    Felix

2. Felix_F

No one? Well, UPS just dropped off the drivers and the other assorted parts. I'll be using a pair of Dayton 18" woofers with a 11.4" port (4" deep) and a NHT SA-3 amp. The drivers should have a combined sensitivity of a little over 100dB's. Lemmee tell ya, these woofers are HUGE! For whatever reason I didn't picture them being so big, even though I've been working on the design for sometime. I'm so excited that I feel like a little kid :)

3. Wes Nance

Wes Nance Stunt Coordinator

Felix,

I live in Rochester, NY. I'm not sure I'm picturing exactly what you are building. I'm no carpenter, but I can help you cut baffles, as I have a table saw and a Jasper Jig/router, depending on how big the holes are.

Give us so more info on what you're going to do to your room. . .

Wes

4. Felix_F

Hi, Wes. Thanks very much for your reply!