Any Charitable woodworkers in the DC Metro area?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by DanielGM, Dec 5, 2003.

1. DanielGM

DanielGM Stunt Coordinator

Hey guys. I'm a college student, which means I lack three things, 1)tools 2)money, and 3)loads of free time during the current exam period..

I am interested in DIY however for the value and the customizability. I've got 2 12" drivers which I plan to use in a push-pull arrangement in a 4 cu. ft. passive sealed box (music application). I don't really plan on building another DIY sub after this one for some time, so investing in good power tools seems like a waste to me. So if anyone in the HTF community who lives in the Northern Virginia, DC, or maryland area and who would be willing to help me build my first enclosure I would really appreciate that help. I'd of course pay for all materials, and I am not asking for your free services, but if I have a choice between buying my own cheap power tools and having someone build an enclosure for me for the same price, I will end up choosing to buy my own power tools because then I could use them for another project down the road.

Whichever way you would like to do it would be fine with me, I could either send you plans and you crank it out for me, or I could come over some weekend if someone would let me borrow their tools and give me a little tutorial.

About the only power tool I have is a power sander, so I will be able to sand and finish the enclosure myself.

Again, I'm not really looking to hire anyone in the traditional sense, because I dont think I could offer a reasonable price for their time. But if someone was looking to help a true enthusiast get their fix of good clean bass I would of course kick in enough extra for you to buy a few new saw blades and router bits. PM or email me if you think you could help out, and I would appreciate any free bumps you may give me so that enough people see this.

Thanks again,
    Daniel

2. Mark gas