any airline pilots out there?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Adam Krogul, May 29, 2003.

1. Adam Krogul

Adam Krogul Stunt Coordinator

my friend and i were having a converstation about jobs and a plane flew over head and we both wondered what a pilot's job schedule was like.

what's their salary, do they work every day or have a certin schedule. how hard is it to become an airline pilot? are their different licenses for different size planes, simliar to semi's?

any info would be great, we were both stumped and had no clue.

2. Philip_G

Philip_G Producer

Well, I know for a fact there are some professional pilot's on the board (paging walt...)
    I am not a pro pilot due to the current economy.. But I do have a degree in the field.. hold the ratings.. and have a million buddies that are, amazingly enough, still flying.

I'll address it to the best of my knowledge [​IMG]

When you get into large, over say 12,500 gross, or jet powered aircraft, they do in fact require a type rating, specific to that make and model aircraft. below that no, there are various requirements for high altitude, complex, high performance... but it's a matter of a sign off by a flight instructor (like me [​IMG] ) and not an actual type rating added to the back of your certificate.