Any Acurus AT-3ABM users out here?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by EarleD, Sep 6, 2002.

  1. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can I have your thoughts on the prepro? Does it have any quirks?

    I'm ready to step to seperates and this is one of the possiblities.

    TIA

    Earle
     
  2. DaveLenhert

    DaveLenhert Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Earle-

    yup...I have/had a ACT-3ABM. I only had it a few days before I had to send it back to Klipsch for some Warrenty work. The unit was having trouble locking onto DTS & DD signals. But I can tell you my initial impressions of it. I had a Denon 3801 and i really liked it. When I installed the ACT3, the clarity greatly increased when listening to stereo and DD/DTS (when it locked onto the signal). Since the purchase was unexpected, I was using the "Ext In" of the Denon to use its amps. Even with this configurations, the change was dramatic. I didn't get a whole lot of time to listen, but it is not as "warm" as the Denon and some CDs were rather sharp sounding. (Please note, that i have Klipsch speakers that people complain are too "bright", but I like that live, dynamic sound) It would probably just take me time to acclimate to the newer sound. The only problem i have had is that when i switch sources, a "pop" sound from my Sub is heard. I believe this is a problem with most ACT-3s. Also, when using the remote, you HAVE to switch the remote to the Pre/Pro source to adjust the volume of the ACT-3. Which is VERY annoying when controlling the VCR, TV, or DVD!

    Hope this helps....

    -Dave
     
  3. Craig Robertson

    Craig Robertson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 1999
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Gregory F

    Gregory F Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one. I really liked it. It sounded good with my Apogee Caliper Siginature (L/R), Martin Logan Theater (C), and ML Scripts (surrounds), Hsu Research TN1220HO (sub). All very revealing speakers. I never had a problem with it. I use a Pronto as a remote and only used the supplied remote for a while and not to control my whole system.

    As a step up to separates, I think it would be excellent.

    That said, mine is available for sale. I have recently upgraded to 7.1. I got tired of waiting on the Stage One upgrade and another new preamp(Outlaw) to come out. I had already installed my rear speakers for 7.1 and got anxious to hear them in action. I would like to say my Sunfire Theater Grand III leaps and bounds better as soon as I fired it up. It sounds great, but I can't say that on the casual listening I have done so far that it is a lot better than the Acurus on 5.1. I have not done any critical listening, or tweaking, yet.

    Just a few thoughts,
    Greg
     
  5. Jerry Hostler

    Jerry Hostler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 1999
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    From Dave:
     
  6. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the info guys. Got a couple more questions:

    Does it have ext inputs for SACD?

    Does it have the ability to memorize different speaker calibrations for differnt modes(DD,DTS,Stereo, etc)

    Is the bass managemnt universal for all speaker? If you set the hp-lp crossover at 60hz, is that the setting for all the speakers, or can each speaker be set individually?

    Greg,

    How much are you asking for yours. Is the ABM version?
    Does is have this hiss that Jerry speaks of?


    Thanks again and keep the idea coming

    Earle
     
  7. DaveLenhert

    DaveLenhert Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Craig, you are a GOD!!! I missed that in the manual. MANY MANY Thanks for the info!!!

    -Dave
     
  8. Blaine_S

    Blaine_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    "The only problem i have had is that when i switch sources, a "pop" sound from my Sub is heard. I believe this is a problem with most ACT-3s."

    *BUT* it can be fixed. It is a problem with the DC offset according to Mondial and by the way, they have great service. My ACT-3ABM is dead quiet and does not "pop" at all. No hiss either.

    2-channel audio is quite good, very good considering that they go for under $1k. I say this in comparison to my Sonic Fontiers Line1 preamp + Perpetural Technologies P3A DAC that I can easily switch to while listening and the Acurus holds it's own.

    The ACT-3 has a number of merrits and the upgrade is tempting.

    The only reason I will sell mine is that I don't need the 2-channel audio and DAC and I would like DPL-2. Otherwise it would be a keeper.

    I bought mine new and have had it for about two years. It replaced an Angstrom 200/205 pre/pro that originally sold for close to $5k.
     
  9. Gregory F

    Gregory F Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine does have the ABM update. I think the bass settings are universal for all small speakers. It's been a while since I set it. I have no hiss, or pops.

    I have the original manual and the ABM manual in PDF form if you want me to email them.

    I was thinking of putting it on E-bay, but I would take $700 plus shipping, before I put it up for auction.
     
  10. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Greg,

    I would be interested in the ABM manual. Thanks alot.

    You can use my eamil listed here. Let me read the manual and Ill get back to you.

    thanks again

    Earle
     
  11. StephenMSmith

    StephenMSmith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you guys talking about the same "popping"? My ACT-3 has an audible "pop" when switching sources that I would describe more as an "audible click". It eminates from the ACT-3 itself, *not* through the speakers. AFAIK, it's a mechanical relay inside the unit switching paths.

    Blaine,
    Do you really not hear *anything* at all when switching source inputs? If so, then maybe I'm wrong about the above. What else do you know about this DC offset thing?

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  12. StephenMSmith

    StephenMSmith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to add:

    I like my ACT-3 a lot. I'll be doing the trade-in for the StageOne, but I'm in no hurry as the ACT-3 really sounds great, even today.

    Re the ABM: you have separate level settings for stereo, DD, and DTS, and separate bass mgmt for stereo vs. DD (see not below re DTS). There is only a single x-over selectable but you can choose which speakers to apply it to. You can also use the x-over but still send a full-range signal to your sub, which is what Mondial recommends since the sub's x-over slope, etc has been designed for the specific sub.




    Note: There is *no DTS bass management* in the ACT-3. All speakers are sent a full-range signal all the time, which is what the DTS spec said to do at the time the ACT-3 was released.

    This is really only an issue if you have any full-range-ish and doing a lot of bass routing in DD, in which case you will find that calibrated DD = DTS bass overload.

    Steve
     
  13. Blaine_S

    Blaine_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve - the "pop" that I heard before I had Mondial fix it could easily be heard from my couch, about 8' from my speakers. Now you can only hear it if you put your ear directly up to the speaker. You can still hear the mechanical "click" of the solenoid inside the ACT-3 when you change sources.

    Also, when I sent my ACT-3 in, they said that they put a new DSP module in. However, the features did not change.

    I just ordered an Outlaw 950 that should arrive by this weekend. It will be interesting to compare the two.
     
  14. StephenMSmith

    StephenMSmith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do find the internal click distracting. It's does seem really loud for a sound made w/o any moving parts. Hopefully, it's a little quieter in the Stage One. Please post your Outlaw comparison! Sounds like your not waiting around to trade in for the Stage One?

    Also, when did you send in your ACT-3? Recently?

    Steve
     

Share This Page