What's new

Anthem D1 / AVM30 differences (1 Viewer)

Glenn*L

Auditioning
Hi guys ...yeah I'm a NOOB! But I'm in a fast pace learning curve on AV equipment.
I've been searching the web for a couple of months now and am looking to put together a decent system for my family/ home theater room, and get rid of my Sony Dream system!
I've decided on this combo for the so far....Anthem AVM30 with the A5 amp combined with the Definitive Technologies Mythos One speaker system. Including the Mytho's one towers X 2, Mythos 3 center and Mythos 4 for surrounds. Also the Definitive Techs SuperCube 1 sub.
From all the reviews it was gonna be either the AVM30 or D1, the Rotel 1098, Parasound C2, or Yamaha RX-Z9.
I've settled on the Anthem line because of the features, sound quality, and upgradability.( Which is important to me!)

Now....hear is a couple of questions. Is the D1 worth the extra 2K, especially if I upgrade my components later? Is the sound quality of the D1 really that much better?

Does anyone have experience with the Mythos speaker system? They have got awesome reviews. VERY IMPORTANT....are they good for pure audio too? Any other suggestions in this price range?

Any input will be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks in advance!
Glenn

Tom Camlioglu

Stunt Coordinator
Someone had posted a similar question of comparing the AVM30 to the D1 in another forum. I pasted some excerpts of what was written there:

...seriously though, you may as well have asked if the base 6 cylinder Ford Mustang - can beat the V8 Mustang Bullet in a race.

I don't know how long the AVM30 upgrade path will be, but I'm sure it would be fairly long going by history. Part of my decision to go with the D1 was that, technically - it has 2 processors to the 30's- 1. Further down the road, whose path will end first? Who knows... but I feel better about having the D1.