Another Tempest project about to get under way

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Owen Bartley, Dec 23, 2002.

1. Owen Bartley

Owen Bartley Second Unit

OK, I'm seeking all the expert advice I can find now, since I'm finally almost ready to start. I've been researching and playing around for a couple of months now, and after starting out with a small Shiva design, I have logically come to... a 210L Tempest! But there are a couple things I need straightened out before I get going.
    1. Should I account for the volume taken up by the port in my tuning calculations, or just the driver/amp/bracing? (i.e. should I subtract port volume from the box and then re-tune based on the new volume?)
    2. What are the diffs between the PE and Adire 250w amps? Is it that the Adire has the rumble filter? I ask because I can order the Adire from CSS, but not the PE amp, which is cheaper, but the extra shipping/brokerage/duty costs would probably make the cost similar in the end.
    3. Is the rumble filter even neccessary for a tempest of my design?
    To help answer this one: the box I modeled in LspCAD shows xmax being fine until it gets down to 15Hz and below. Does my 18Hz tune mean it will start rolling off before xmax and it should be safe? or would a rumble filter prevent this sub from overextending and possibly damaging itself?
    and LAST... I'm waffling on the design. I put up renderings of my choices at my website under the SUB page. Please, give me your opinions! Just looking for an outside perspective here since I had a bunch of ideas.
    Thanks everybody!
    (oh, and sorry for the few people who have to read my cross posting)

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

1. You must take into account everything that takes up volume inside the enclosure, and that means treating the port as a solid object in volume calculations.