another separates vs receiver and amp discussion

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Dan Sloane, Feb 15, 2004.

1. Dan Sloane

Dan Sloane Extra

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to the forum. I'm looking for some advise on which way to go. My start on a HT is L/R = Martin Logan Aerius i's. Center is ML Theatre. I just received M&K S150 THX's x2 for the surrounds(no room for larger) I plan on 2 more M&K's for the rear surrounds if these sound OK on 5.1 to make it 7.1. My room is not a dedicated HT, it is our great room/living room/kitchen and it is approximately 24'x37'. The 65" Mitsubishi Diamond widesreen RPTV is centered on the 24' end wall and viewing/listening is at approx. 13 to 15 feet. Aerius's in the corners. Now my dilema. Will a receiver like a B&K avr307 drive all these. Do I need separates and if I do then what would you suggest between Outlaw 770 vs 7xM-200s vs B&k7207 or whatever it is. Then using either a 950, ref50(costly though) or a Cheaper receiver as pre/pro. Also considered Sunfire Ultimate and Denon 5803 and Yamaha rx-zi and Sony strda7es. What do you think. Thanks in advance and sorry to be so wordy. Dan

2. JackS

JackS Supporting Actor

With your ML's I don't think you should attempt using a standalone receiver. Get an amp and connect to a receiver of your choice or go the extra lap and go total seperates. You could call Martin Logan and ask them what a minimum requirement might be and then move at least slightly above .My guess is any amp 100watt or above would be adiquate but something a little more powerful would add to the comfort zone.

3. Jesse Sharrow

Jesse Sharrow Supporting Actor

I think the logans need alot of power. I would say sunfire ultimate receiver would be the minimum. I you could do a 250-400 watt sunfire seperates system you would be fine.

Maybe get a smaller 100 watt receiver then get a seperate 200X3 amp to power your front stage. The M&K's will be fine with a little less power.

4. Dan Sloane

Dan Sloane Extra