Analog signals on HD 57" - Is it that bad!!!???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott_HL, Sep 26, 2002.

  1. Scott_HL

    Scott_HL Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I purchased my 27" Trinitron in 96, I bought it knowing it was small, but that I would plop the big cash for the HD big screen later. Well, now I have a living room that is 13/19, w/ a viewing distance of 9', and it's driving me crazy! I need a big screen.
    My dilemma is I watch a lot of sports, and from what I have read, there are virtually no HD broadcasts of sports (outside of HDnet) - specifically NFL.
    I have a nice HT going, and this is the big hole in my system. I watch 70% tv, 30% dvd.

    Question is - How bad is analog(diretv) on a HD ready set? I keep reading it's terrible. I have read on the forum that Elite is the winner for line doubling, but what about the others (Sony, Toshiba)? Will I have buyers remorse on Sundays when I want to watch an NFL game?
    Recommendations??????
     
  2. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Pioneer 64" widescreen, and find that it does just fine with analog signals. I sit 9' from the screen.

    DirectTV can be bad at times (especially the local channels, they seem to always have the worst picture quality).

    If I am watching football on network television, i use my HDTV set-top box to receive the signals. Over-the-air local channels look very good, whether they are high-def or not.

    There are more sporting events showing up in HighDef. There has been alot of college football lately, I think every saturday there is one game on in HD. Major events like the US Open (tennis) and the Masters were just amazing to watch.

    Jeff
     
  3. Scott_HL

    Scott_HL Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff,

    I assume that your set-top box for HD is your Directv box, right? If not, what do you use?
    Also, do you have an elite?
     
  4. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    My STB is not Direct TV capable. I use a Samsung T150, which is OTA only. I dont care much for HDNet and HBO, so I decided to skip the DTV box. Maybe when they get more content I will upgrade.

    My Television is not Elite. It is the Pioneer SD-643HD5.


    Jeff
     

Share This Page