analog or digital?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark_Su, Jan 25, 2003.

  1. Mark_Su

    Mark_Su Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm currently using an Audigy 2 and connecting it to my Onkyo receiever with a Y-Adapter. Now, would it be better if I connect the Audigy to the receiver's analog input or to its digital input (with a single coax cable)? I mainly use my PC for mp3 listening, barely any gaming or movie watching. Thanks in advance for any help.

    PS: For some reason i get clicks when I connect it digitally.
     
  2. John Parris

    John Parris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have better results connecting to the digital coax with my Audigy. What do you mean by "clicks"?
     
  3. Mark_Su

    Mark_Su Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whenever windows makes any sort of sound, be it from an mp3 or a simple warning beep, two seconds later my speakers make a faint clicking/popping sound. how are you connecting your coax cable to your audigy?
     
  4. John Parris

    John Parris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With the digital output on the back-- 1/8" miniplug to stereo RCA adapter-- the left channel is a make-shift coaxial... works well enough for me.
     
  5. Mark_Su

    Mark_Su Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you're using one of these?

    http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=274%2D883

    That's what I'm using, with my coax cable plugged into the white outlet, and it works fine most of the time. I'm still trying to figure out why I get clicks from this setup however.
     
  6. John Parris

    John Parris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This sounds to me like a software/driver problem... doesnt seem like it could be caused by the cables... I was using something a little different-- a little "Y" dongle cable and a really long (25 ft.) extension cable...essentially the same thing, though...which leads me to believe that it's probably something with the drivers or software...try getting the latest drivers from Creative's website and see if that does the trick.
     

Share This Page