An irked film student on OAR, Blockbuster, etc.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Aaron Garman, Jan 9, 2002.

1. Aaron Garman

Aaron Garman Second Unit

Hello all. As some of you, or none of you know, I am a film student. I am currently taking 3 classes of it this semester. Today something irked me a little bit. In my intro class, our professor was lecturing on terms and we discussed OAR. I absolutely loved the presentation she gave on it. Then we discussed it. Some kid in there mentions how it doesn't like it when DVD's only have widescreen because the picture is too small, despite being correct. He claims he watches on a laptop monitor, thus he wants a bigger picture. This was all I needed to get riled up. I then starting talking about how some studios (you know who you are) are releasing Pan and Scan for commercial purposes only and not protecting the art that is film. Later on in class, I gave an impromtu speech on why NOT to go to Blockbuster because of what they are doing. I was glad that people listened to this. I am hoping that this aspect ratio topic comes up again in class so that I can go after these J6P's, as well as educate those who don't know about OAR. VIVA OAR!

AJ Garman

2. Bruce N

Bruce N Second Unit

YOU GO BOY!!!

3. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    Ignorance needs to be exterminated.

4. bill lopez

bill lopez Second Unit

I have encounterd 2 people at stores who hate widescreen at stores and even though I explain it to them and they understand it they seem to still want P&S. It's like when we were back in school and fellow classmates didn't care for art class.

5. Grant B

Grant B Producer

It took me a long time to accept the world is full of cannonfodder.... this sounds harsh but think about it

How does Britney Spears and Michael Jackson sell 32 trillion records?

How does Titantic make 70 zillion dollars...someone goes to see it