An absolute beginner

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob.R.S, Nov 17, 2002.

1. Rob.R.S

Rob.R.S Auditioning

Hello all,

Need a bit of advice. Just bought my first house and discovered that it is wired for surround sound, so I've decided to try something new. To this point the only radio I've ever owned is a boombox. I less than 10 cd's, but I would like to try this. Yesterday I bought a 57" HD Toshiba tv. .

The tv is going in a two story family room that's 17'x24'. The existing wiring consists of speaker wires coming out of the walls about 10' off the floor, two on the wall behind the tv and two on the opposite wall. Now here's the fun part, Now I need EVERYTHING ELSE and I don't even have a clue.

I need a receiver and was told by someone to buy Harman Kardon 520 because I need two zones. I was told to by toshiba dvd progressive scan w/5 discs for playing music upstairs in family room. Also told to by Harman Kardon cd player for cd's for speakers to be set up in basement. As far as speakers, I have no idea. They have to be wall mountable and it would be nice if they came in white, but if not I just have to convince my wife. My concern is that the wires are 10' off the floor, so the speakers would have to point down. The only thing that was mentioned was Klipsch quintet or jamo 330pd but I have no idea about either and the problem is at this point do not have any training to discern what sounds good or not. My total budget would hopefully not exceed $2500.00.

Anyone who could give me any feedback would be greatly appreciated. As I stated, I know absolutely nothing about this.

2. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter