AMX Touchscreens?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ryan Wright, Jan 18, 2002.

  1. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone here have any experience with AMX touchscreens?

    I recently aquired an AMX touchscreen model # AXT-CP. This is a color panel. All I have is the touchscreen and the power supply. It powers up and works great but I need to interface it to my home automation & home theater system. Specifically I want to be able to send IR and X-10 signals from it.

    However, I have no idea how to go about this. Do I connect it to a PC and pass commands back and forth? If so, what sort of software do I use? The manual talks about an AXCESS Control System; what exactly can I do with this, and what kind of prices should I be looking at to obtain one?

    Any info you have on AMX systems and/or this model specifically would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Carl Longnecker

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need an AMX controller like an Axcent2 or a NetLink master. Those touch screens can not sends RS232 signals; the RS232 port is for programming only.
    You can get the software to program the panel from www.amx.com Check out the dealer support -> software center for TPDesign and TPDesign3. You will have to register to get into that section, but that's no problem; it's free.
    Check the firmware version of your panel. Plug in the power, switch to the main menu, and press the setup button in the lower-right corner. If you have version 3 or higher, you need TPDesign3; if lower, you need TPDesign. Snag a null modem cable, and use it to download the programming.
    Programming in AMX is not trivial. If you don't have experience programming, I wouldn't suggest it.
     
  3. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Carl,

    Thanks for the response. The original post was made back in January. I've since purchased an Axcent3, various other boxes, and set the whole thing up. I've since accumulated a lot of AMX experience (Axcess line), so if anyone else around here needs help setting up a system or help with Axcess programming, let me know..
     

Share This Page