1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Amplifier Ohms

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by mark-h, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. mark-h

    mark-h Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    If the specs on an amp say 200W @8 ohm and 330W @ 4ohm Does that mean that it will not do 6ohm or do they just not list it?

    Mark
     
  2. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mark, the amp will do 8, 6, 4, and even 2 ohm...so you'll be just fine. I assume it's because your speakers you have or plan on getting are rated at 6 ohm right? Either case, no worries buddy! [​IMG]
     
  3. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike
    I agree with Erik, except for the "2 Ohm" part. Just b/c an amp will perform just fine with a 4 ohm load doesn't mean it will run at ALL with a 2 ohm load. The amp has to specifically be rated to run at a 2 ohm load, else you risk frying it and anything connected to it.

    That said, any amp rated down to a 4 ohm load will have an easy time driving a 6 ohm load.

    AFA what kind of wattage you'd be getting...I would opine and say somewhere smack b/t 200 & 330. [​IMG]
     
  4. mark-h

    mark-h Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Thanks.

    The amp is a Rotel RMB 1095.
    I might be buying the amp to drive front(400W), surround sides(400W), and rear speakers(175W). I will probably get the 2 channel for the fronts(400W).

    I am also looking at the Parasound and Sunfire.

    Mark
     
  5. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL...it might do 2ohm but I should have said "maybe!" [​IMG] I said "even 2 ohm" meaning it "might" be ok rated that low...thanks for making that clarification Michael! [​IMG] I meant well, but my fingers typed the wrong words! :b
     
  6. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you get the Sunfire, it can handle a two ohm load on a time limited basis. [​IMG]

    DJ
     
  7. marc_manny

    marc_manny Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can the Denon 3803 handle a 4 ohm load?

    Marc
     
  8. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it lists a rating for a 4 ohm load it will handle a 6 ohm load no problem. For that matter most amps / receivers will handle a 6 ohm load. More and more are being able to handle a 4 ohm load.
     
  9. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike


    Don't know about that. I know it's rated for 6-ohm speakers.

    Possibly if had say, just the main L/R that were 4 ohm, then the rest 8 or 6 ohms, maybe. But "maybe" isn't a definitive answer. [​IMG]

    Bump for you.
     

Share This Page