Amplifier Ohms

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by mark-h, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. mark-h

    mark-h Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the specs on an amp say 200W @8 ohm and 330W @ 4ohm Does that mean that it will not do 6ohm or do they just not list it?

    Mark
     
  2. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark, the amp will do 8, 6, 4, and even 2 ohm...so you'll be just fine. I assume it's because your speakers you have or plan on getting are rated at 6 ohm right? Either case, no worries buddy! [​IMG]
     
  3. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike
    I agree with Erik, except for the "2 Ohm" part. Just b/c an amp will perform just fine with a 4 ohm load doesn't mean it will run at ALL with a 2 ohm load. The amp has to specifically be rated to run at a 2 ohm load, else you risk frying it and anything connected to it.

    That said, any amp rated down to a 4 ohm load will have an easy time driving a 6 ohm load.

    AFA what kind of wattage you'd be getting...I would opine and say somewhere smack b/t 200 & 330. [​IMG]
     
  4. mark-h

    mark-h Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    The amp is a Rotel RMB 1095.
    I might be buying the amp to drive front(400W), surround sides(400W), and rear speakers(175W). I will probably get the 2 channel for the fronts(400W).

    I am also looking at the Parasound and Sunfire.

    Mark
     
  5. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL...it might do 2ohm but I should have said "maybe!" [​IMG] I said "even 2 ohm" meaning it "might" be ok rated that low...thanks for making that clarification Michael! [​IMG] I meant well, but my fingers typed the wrong words! :b
     
  6. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you get the Sunfire, it can handle a two ohm load on a time limited basis. [​IMG]

    DJ
     
  7. marc_manny

    marc_manny Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can the Denon 3803 handle a 4 ohm load?

    Marc
     
  8. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it lists a rating for a 4 ohm load it will handle a 6 ohm load no problem. For that matter most amps / receivers will handle a 6 ohm load. More and more are being able to handle a 4 ohm load.
     
  9. MichaelDDD

    MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike


    Don't know about that. I know it's rated for 6-ohm speakers.

    Possibly if had say, just the main L/R that were 4 ohm, then the rest 8 or 6 ohms, maybe. But "maybe" isn't a definitive answer. [​IMG]

    Bump for you.
     

Share This Page