amplifier noise

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Rodier, Aug 25, 2002.

1. Rob Rodier

Rob Rodier Supporting Actor

I guess when it rains it pours. Seems like a recent influx with these questions.

Anyway I have a Kinergetics Chiro c-200 and there is a very low level hiss that can be heard through the speakers. I disconnected the feeds from the amp and it is still there. This is not audible when listening but still bothersome as most of you can imagine. I am wondering if a; this is a problem with the amp and b; if there is an easy remedy. I am a student and have a limited budget so any tweaks would be great. I was also wondering about line filters like the adcoms, panamax etc. Could these cure my problem. I would need to do it @ or around $200 and have no problem buying used. Thanks in advance

-rob

2. Gruson

Gruson Second Unit

Rod, I am in the same boat.

I have a 7.1 set up, using a Yamaha RX-v1000 receiver. I am using the 6.1 (rear center) preout from the Yamaha and running it to an old Sony receiver (acting as an amp). I then have the rear center speakers connected from the Sony's MAIN (L-R) speaker output.

This works great but for some reason there is an awful "hissing" sound coming from the speakers. I have all of the speakers at the same dB level (used an SPL meter) but the rear centers are the only ones hissing.

I am positive it is the Sony receiver because I connected a DVD player to it and the speakers still hiss.

Any ideas how I can get rid of this problem?

What 2 channel amp would you recommend I ust to drive my rear centers? I would like to keep costs under $200 as well. Parasound maybe?

Thank you.

3. Rob Rodier

Gruson,
    My hiss is far from "awful" but might as well be as it is really beginning to bother me. Hopefully we can get some insight.

I also want to add that I am using very high quality cables all around.

-rob

4. Gruson

Gruson Second Unit

Rod,