amplifer

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by ChrisSC, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. ChrisSC

    ChrisSC Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering if it is possible to hardwire an automotive amplifier into your home. Pressently I am using a power inverter and at loud volume the sub woofer turns off of hums. Any help would be appriciated.
     
  2. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The price of a high amperage 12v DC converter is not cost effective. You're better off sellinbg the car amp and buying a dedicated home amp.
     
  3. Phill O

    Phill O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2001
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure that one of the forum's sponsers will have an amp that will fit your needs at a reasonable cost.

    if not try parts express, or Adire audio. And get a amp designed for a home audio subwoofer. In the long run you will be much happier.
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Pretty common question. Just curious, how come you never see anyone wanting to use a home amplifier in their car?

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I'd guess it'd be a cooling/heat-sink/fan issue with the home/consumer amps vs. a car amp that's designed to run in harsher climates or lowly ventilated areas.
     
  6. MichaelAngelo

    MichaelAngelo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]
    Wayne,
    looong ago, when the I saw the Carver cube amp for the first time, (car audio was not as bigas today) I remember thinking, "In my truck??' and grilling my electrician father, 'Dad, how big a convertor would I need for an amp this big?' His answer- No. [​IMG]
     
  7. MarkRoberts

    MarkRoberts Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The home stuff in a car can and has been done. The most outrageous one I have seen is the editor of widescreen reveiw installed a mirage BPSS-210 in the trunk of his Impalla SS. They did a feature on it I can't remember the issue I will have to ask my brother he has it still. I remember thinking even if I had the money, why?[​IMG] If memory serves he also had a DD/DTS decoder in there and a whole bunch of other stuff before they actually made DD/DTS mobile decoders.
     
  8. Bryan Michael

    Bryan Michael Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in a amp they have a bult in ac-dc converter. in car amps they are not as efeshent as a home amp beacues there is so much curent in a dc 12 v setup in a car.
     
  9. bondrey

    bondrey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to hijack the post but saw the moderator say not to start new topics that already exist.
    I've searched the forum on high amperage DC converters and haven't found much except that it's too expensive. My question is how expensive is it? I'm not sure exactly what to look for. I have an Audiobahn 12" 1100W-RMS speaker in sealed box and a 919W-RMS Mono Kenwood amp. I got rid of the hot rod for an '06 Civic and don't want to waste the trunk space (or add'l weight) and can't sell the setup for nearly what I paid, so would like to put it on my home theatre to save money on upgrading my home setup. Right now it's just a 125W 12" JVC (part of JVC receiver/speaker setup).
    I'm looking to get a Harman/Kardon V240 receiver by Dec then upgrade the speakers and thought I could save money on the sub and have a nicely powered one by using my audiobahn/kenwood setup. Thoughts?
    Would a 25 amp converter work? I'm thinking I'd probably fry it but haven't found anything higher.
    TIA,
    Brandon
     
  10. homthtr

    homthtr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In theory your electric 120volt outlet will have at least a 15amp circut. So in theory step that down to 12 volts you should be able to get as much as 150amps available. I can't imagine the cost of such a transformer!.
     
  11. homthtr

    homthtr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dang... just found a 120 volt input-15amp 12volt DC output... only $2437.00. [​IMG]
     
  12. Seth=L

    Seth=L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't sound worth it IMO. [​IMG]
     
  13. bondrey

    bondrey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry guys, meant the 25 amps was on the DC side. Figured my amp would fry that.
     
  14. turkeylord

    turkeylord Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Seth=L

    Seth=L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how much was it?
     
  16. turkeylord

    turkeylord Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I paid about $150 from Page Computer.. Not sure if they still sell them.. it'll do 40A..
     

Share This Page