What's new

amp/speaker planning for the future (1 Viewer)

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
well heres my situation. i have a pioneer elite 45tx now, and with the exception of my center channel, my speakers really suck. so, i'd like to get better ones. i was looking at paradigm/reference, swan, klipsch, axiom, and totem so far. but, i hear that the 45tx has difficulty driving certain speakers, so i was thinking of getting external amplification. ive been looking at outlaw products for a little while, although i dont have any. this is where i become nearly clueless. do people usually get like a 5 or 7 channel amp, or a bunch of monoblocks? i'd imagine they would get a 5 or 7 channel unit, as a bunch of monoblocks would get messy. can you tell i'm a beginner at this stuff yet? even though i suffer from poor college boy syndrome and wont be making these purchases for a little while, i'd still like to stay informed. i'm sure every one of these companies that i mentioned will have entire new product lines by the time i am ready to buy, but doesnt hurt to know a little bit about the equipment you are looking at. anyway, my question is, are there any other companies i should be looking at as far as amplifiers go, and are there any speaker companies that offer comparable bang for the buck? assuming i am going to seek external amplification eventually, i'd like to be able to do it right the first time, and not have to make a major purchase twice. if there is a link to a FAQ that anyone has available, i'd appreciate it, and if anyone has any info on what i need, also much appreciated. thanks

CJ

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
ive found a couple amps that i like, the rotel rmb-1095, and the sherbourn, i forget the model. both seem like good units, but i'm not sure how much they lean towards music/movies. i am 70/30 movies. i'm looking at a drawing of the rotel, what is the db25 input for?

CJ

Users who are viewing this thread