What's new

amp for tempest pls! (1 Viewer)

bernard&*

Stunt Coordinator
hi good day, i,m new in this forum im from the manila Philipines, which is better to use on hometheater/music DIY subwoofer.is it tempest 15" or shiva 12" and what amp matches this two.how many percent this diy project to be successful.thanks a lot

Alex_P

Stunt Coordinator
Bernard,

I just built the Adire mid-q sealed tempest sub. I ran it w/ the PE 250W plate amp. After about 2 months of playing, the sub got broke-in. Below is the freq response of it:

20hz - 98db
25hz - 106db
30hz - 104db
32hz - 103db
35hz - 107db
38hz - 108db
40hz - 108db
43hz - 110db
45hz - 110db
48hz - 105db
50hz - 107db
52hz - 109db
55hz - 115db
60hz - 109db
62hz - 106db
65hz - 103db
70hz - 106db

from 70hz to 100hz the freq range is from 106db to 113db. I'm totally satisfy w/ it for both music and movies. It took me about 3 weeks to completed it. It's my first time doing DIY sub and really enjoy the building process as well as the sound quality after it's done. The total cost for me is $380 including the 2 clamps that I have to buy for the project. Go for it Bernard... you will appreciated it afterward...

Alex,

bernard&*

Stunt Coordinator
hi! thanks for reply, but i want the vented design.Any idea or tips for this vented type EBS,SBB4 AND ADIRE DESIGN which one. Most of the time i listen to music but when i watch movie i want the realism.also if i pick any of the three, if i changed the box shape (but the same volume)is there big diff. in performance.i do love the toughness of PB2+.

TimForman

Supporting Actor
The Adire Alignment vented enclosure for the Tempest with a 250W amp will do well for you. The shape is not as important as the interior volume. If you make it shallow leave enough room for the back of the driver and the vents.
Here's some pics. Vented Tempest

bernard&*

Stunt Coordinator