Amp bridge Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike ZQ, Mar 11, 2002.

  1. Mike ZQ

    Mike ZQ Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    My question is...

    How important is the speaker impedence on a bridged amp?

    My user manual dosen't mention anything about 4 ohm speakers in bridged mode.

    I'm using an old H-K Citation 16 to power my SVS sub... I'm only using one side in stereo mode right now, but I would like to try and squeeze a little more wattage out of the H-K if I could.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically when you bridge the amp see's 4ohms when it used to see 8ohms. If the amp can't handle it you will either blow a fuse, get clipping or overheating.

    Kevin
     
  3. Mike ZQ

    Mike ZQ Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin, Thanks for the reply.

    On the front of the amp is a switch to change between 4 ohm and 8 ohm loads. But the manual says that stereo mode is the norm for this amp.

    So If I bridge this amp, 4 ohms may look like 2 ohms.

    What the heck...the worst I can do is bake my amp.
     

Share This Page