What's new

Amazon Cancelling MOD Releases (1 Viewer)

Todd J Moore

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Todd Moore
Being an indie filmmaker myself who has used the Amazon MOD program for years (and CreateSpace before they were morphed into Amazon), I got an email today that does not make me happy. Amazon is stopping it's MOD program in favor of streaming. They will stop taking new MOD titles as of March 31, 2021 and stop selling MOD discs altogether on June 4. This doesn't just affect small guys like me, it also means that things like the Universal Vault MOD series will be going away as well. So if there are any MOD titles you want, now's the time to get them apparently.

David Weicker

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
David
Can you provide this email.

I had heard that Amazon would no longer be creating their own MOD copies of items, but I had also heard that MOD discs would now be created by another manufacturer (Alliance).

Did they really state they would not sell MOD titles created by someone else?

Todd J Moore

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Todd Moore
Dear Content Owner,

We are writing to inform you that we have made the decision to close Media On Demand (MOD) based on customer and content owner feedback, specifically their preference for digital streaming services vs. physical discs. We wanted to provide you with as much notice as possible and help you prepare for this change. While we will stop accepting new titles on March 31, 2021, you will still be able to sell your existing titles through June 4, 2021. These dates may be subject to change so make sure to check the closure schedule for more details and updates on our closure status.

Please also check your account information to ensure it’s up to date to receive your royalty earnings.

For the closure schedule and additional details, visit our Help page: https://manufacturing.amazon.com/help. You can also Contact Us for further assistance: https://manufacturing.amazon.com/contact