Am I making a good decision??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jack Russell, Oct 14, 2003.

1. Jack Russell

Jack Russell Auditioning

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie to the HT world. I've been doing alot of research and reading a lot of posts from various websites. I'm looking to get some feedback on my first HT system.

First off, me and my wife would be using the system about 60% HT and 40% music. Our living room is about 25'x15'. Both prefer a cleaner sound vs a softer one.

Our budget is $1000 USD for a receiver and a 5.1 setup at least.

This is what I'm initially leaning towards now:

Receiver: Marantz 5300 or the H/K325. I can get both for roughly $450. I'm leaning toward the Marantz right now. In all the posts/reviews that I've read, the Marantz had a cleaner sound for music and very good sound for HT(in other people's opinion). The H/K sounded(again, in other people's opinion) softer. I've only heard the H/K and to me it sounded good so I can't compare the 2 together yet.
    Speakers: Fluance AV-HTB. I've numerous posts about these speakers. Not a single one was a bad one. I read a few threads saying that the Fluance was a close cousin of the dreaded "white van speaker sale" but the connection between them was iffy at best. For $250 with shipping included, I found it hard to best the Fluance speakers for bang for the buck.
    Sub: Sony SA-WM500 or Velodyne CHT-10. I saw the Sony on ebay for like $150 so that's what I found appealling. The Velodyne though, from what I read, puts out a nicer, cleaner sound.

This is what I'm thinking right now. What do you guys think? I'd appreciate any and all comments/input. Thanks in advance.

2. agendrano

agendrano Extra