What's new

Am I getting the most from my video card? (1 Viewer)

MikeH1

Screenwriter
Real Name
Billy
I have been enjoying for the last 2 months online gaming with Battlefield 1942. I never realized gaming could be so much fun. So much, in fact, that about 2 weeks ago I turfed my 64 mb Geforce 4 MX 420 and bought a 128 mb GeForce 4 Ti 4600. A $80.00 CDN card to a $475.00 card. My Frames per second went through the roof from an average of 15-30 to an average of 50-70 and quite often higher. Much of the choppiness was eliminated. Woohooo!!

My question arises from the actual graphics between the 2 cards. I notice it is a little better but not much. The store I bought it from made it sound like it was going to be night and day. The salesman said he personally owned this card (don't they always have that product at home what you are going to purchase?) and said I was in for a "real treat". Yeah, the game is much more playable but only because of the increase in FPS.

Any tweaks I might be able to do? I d/l the latest drivers (40.72 for you Geforce 4 owners) and wonder if maybe theres more out there. I keep antialiasing off because it messes with the in game chat letters (somehow fades them). Any tips and suggestions would be most appreciated so I can max out this small investment the best I can.

Thanks.

JasenP

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jasen
I would find a forum or page dedicated to your particular brand of card. I have an ATI and I always go to Rage3D and poke around for tweaks and advice.
There are also settings in your BIOS that you can change. One thing that I did was create a "gaming" user on my XP machine. Basically, I have nothing load except the drivers that are needed to play the game. It works really well and is easier than shutting everything off manually.
-JP