What's new

Am I big enough (1 Viewer)

michael pearce

Auditioning
Hope I am following protocol. This is my first post ever on any kind of forum,room site or what not. I want to build a home theater. I have a unfinished basement that will allow me a 12 feet wide by 14 feet long room with 8 ft cielings. Is this room big enough to do a Theater right. I want two rows of seating with one riser for the back seats. So how high can my riser be? How far back should the seating be? I want to view DVD's and NFL HDTV Football or sports on a front projector home theater system. Thanks to this site I am pretty certain that I want a 16.9 aspect ratio as opposed to the 4/3 but I am willing to listen to different opinions. Based on my dimensions how big of a stewart screen or da lite screen should I get? The bigger for me the better. What would be my typical throw ratio? So many questions but I am just getting started. I understand that I have to pay around $2000 for a good quality screen and I am O.K with that, but what confuses me is do I pay $5000 for a Nec HT1000 or Optima H56 or equivelant 16.9 in the do I go for a 1,000 or 2,000 Projector? I have a pretty good surround system as it is right now that I would probably hook into and upgrade as time goes on. Is there anything I am missing?
Any and all help is nice. my email address is [email protected] if someone wants to be my mentor..ha ha

RickBlacker

Stunt Coordinator
As far as room size, sure you should be fine. My room is about 20' by 10' I wish I had your extra 2 feet in width.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Michael, welcome to HTF — and to the Internet.

Since your post involves a personal DIY project instead of anything specific you may have read in Home Theater Builder magazine, I am moving it to the area best suited to your needs.

Good luck on your project!

DavidVT

Stunt Coordinator
Michael,