Am I a fanatic?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Ryan, Nov 23, 2001.

1. Tom Ryan

Tom Ryan Screenwriter

Well. Here's the setup:

I go to my friend's house to watch a movie. What movie, it doesn't matter. We're just going to pick one and watch it. We finally pick Shrek. He puts it on, and it's the pan-and-scan presentation on disc 1. My friend loves to taunt me with his toleration of fullscreen, and no matter how much I insist he won't simply switch it to disc 2 and the widescreen transfer. Finally one of my friends there says "well why don't you leave if you don't like it?" or something to that extent. I was shocked by this disdain for my presence, and eventually I actually left. What's worse is that I had given one of my friends a ride there. I'm sure my other friend will give him a ride back, but he was my obligation.

Now. I am an artist (musician). Art is very important to me. Film is art. I can't stand to see it violated. When it's violated, I feel like I'm being violated. Was it wrong for me to become upset over this issue, or am I blowing it way out of proportion. Am I a fanatic?

-Tom

2. Scott Shanks

Scott Shanks Second Unit

Scott Shanks
    Ms. Manners would say:

Object politely

Watch the movie

Take your friend home

Seriously though, if you are a guest at someone's house, making a stink over that was probably not the proper thing to do. Just look at it in the reverse. If your friend left your house because you wanted to watch the widescreen version and left someone else high and dry, you wouldn't think too highly of that would you?

Take it easy next time.

3. Ash Williams

Ash Williams Second Unit