What's new

Allman Brothers at the Beacon Theater - Stunning Performance! (1 Viewer)

Brian L

Senior HTF Member
This month DirecTV is doing a freeview of the Allmans live at the Beacon Theater.

All I can say is, this is a stunning performance. Derek Trucks and Warren Haynes, trading slide solos.....JAW DROPPING.

This is my first time seeing/hearing Derek play. Shocking. Incredible. Fantastic. Awe inspiring.

I love electric slide. This show is perhaps the best electric slide playing I have heard in a long, long time. I never got to see Duane play, but I can say this; his spirit is alive and well in Derek Trucks.

I have not looked for it, but I assume this is out on a DVD, as are most freeviews. This is a must have for fans of the band.

BGL

Dave Isham

Grip
Brian,

I'll have to check this out as I was at one of the Beacon shows 3rd row, ear level w/ Derek's stack. (thank god for my Etmyotic molded earplugs.)Warren Haynes would shoot him an annoying glare every now and then over Derek's stage volume. I think Derek was completely out of the house mix, his half stack filling the Beacon w/ room to spare.

You'd normally think great, just what the world needs, another decent slide player... He sprinkled a plethora of world music influences between the lines and had a great time trading humorous licks with their bass player (whose name escapes me...)

This kid has the most amazing hands I've ever seen. It reminds me of what my bass teacher used to say about Jimi Hendrix (they jammed together on occasion during the pre to early Experience years). Excellent command of his instrument.

Brian L

Senior HTF Member
Wow, must have been a great show.

What totally blew me away was that Derek hardly moved at all, and pretty much just stood there, focused almost trance-like on his instrument. When he really, really got cranking (which was a site/sound to behold, IMHO!), he would move a bit, be he remained stoic most of the time.