What's new

Agkk.. Help me decide Denon 1803 or HK 225 (1 Viewer)

BrianL

Auditioning
I can get both for the same price (both refurbished). The Denon is 6.1 and the HK is 5.1, I only really need 5.1 right now but it's nice to know that I'll be covered if I decide to go the 6.1 route later on. Please, help me decide. On a further note, the Denon 1804 can be had for 50 bux more (throwing another option into the ring).

BrianL

Auditioning
My budget is about 200-300. Both the denon and the HK can be had for about 225 from ecost. I like the denon because it's 6.1 and supports EX/DTS-ES/Neo:6, which makes it seem more future friendly (at least to me) but everyone also seems to recommend the HK sound. The ez-set option from the HK is also attractive (I'm a newbie) and the on screen display is a plus. The Denon does component video switching but I don't really need that.

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Brian,

I've owned both Denon and H/K gear. I think both would offer some good sound for you. One area of the H/K gear that really accels is the larger front-panel readout. When I had the Denon 1802 and 1803 receivers, the volume indicator was quite hard to read from 7 feet away - and my eyes are very good eyes.

Mark Murphy

Supporting Actor
I can't speak for the Denon, but I love the AVR-225. I didn't use the EZ-Set but manual calibration was very easy. I didn't have to do hardly any adjusting at all for the 5 speakers. I like the fact that the HK has Logic 7. Its definitely a step up for 2 ch sources from regular Pro-Logic. I'd be wary of buying at non-authorized dealer like E-cost because of the lack of a warranty. I'm sure either the Denon or the HK will work great.

Drew_W

Screenwriter
I like the overall layout of the front of the HK MUCH better than the Denon...I don't find the Denon very aesthetically pleasing, whereas the HK has a nice clean look. Not to mention the sound is quite excellent as well.