After format computer boots and asks to choose between 2 OS versions. Why?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ronald Epstein, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,230
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    A friend of mine recently had problems with his
    computer and asked that I come over and help him
    format and reinstall Windows XP.

    At the time he was using the HOME version of XP.

    After deleting the partitions and formatting his
    computer I installed Windows XP PROFESSIONAL on
    his computer. The install went beautifully.

    Noticed a problem afterwards....

    As soon as the computer boots up (before the Windows
    XP boot screen appears) a black area comes up and asks
    which OS the user wants to boot to. It gives a choice
    of XP HOME or XP PROFESSIONAL.

    Why is this happening?

    Is there anything I can go in and do to make the
    computer boot to a default XP PROFESSIONAL?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Aaron Gould

    Aaron Gould Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Aaron Gould
    Hey Ron...

    Check the "C:boot.ini" file, and take out the line that says "XP Home". It looks something like this:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home" /fastdetect

    As long as you leave the "XP Pro" line untouched, it'll be ok.

    Also, here's a bit of info on the whole boot.ini thing (if you're interested of course [​IMG]):

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...c_str_masc.asp
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,230
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    How do I access that boot.ini file?

    Looking at the "C" drive I don't see it sitting there
    unless it is a hidden file.

    Thanks for this tip.
     
  4. Aaron Gould

    Aaron Gould Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Aaron Gould
    Oops, yes -- it is a hidden, and write-protected file.

    In "Windows Explorer", go into the "Tools" menu, and select "Folder Options". In the "View" tab, uncheck the "Hide protected operating system files".

    Now you can see the C:boot.ini file in Windows Explorer. In the "boot.ini" file Properties (right-click on the file, select Properties), uncheck the "Read-only" option.

    After you make the changes to boot.ini, make sure you re-enable all the above settings.
     
  5. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah its the boot.ini for sure, but that is pretty strange, cause you said you removed the partitions and formatted the drive.
     
  6. Joseph DeMartino

    Joseph DeMartino Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    8,311
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    5,610
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Joseph DeMartino
    Are you sure you got all the partitions? It sounds like you missed one and it had XP Home on it. Either that or you used the Windows installation routine to do the format and partition. I'm pretty sure that if you do this on a machine with an existing Windows installation and choose "install XP in a new directory" rather than "over write existing installation" it wilsave the old version to a bootable partition by default. I think there is an override for this, but you've got to look for it.

    Regards,

    Joe
     
  7. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,230
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Joseph,

    Suppose I didn't delete all the partitions....

    What now? Do I have to do a reformat?

    Also, the guy said he THOUGHT he had an 80GB
    hard drive but after the format and the new install
    it now says 40.

    Is there possibly 40gb that I missed and is sitting
    in an old partitioned space?

    If this is the case do I have to go and reformat again?

    Yes, I did boot up with Windows XP to do the
    partition deletion and formatting.
     
  8. Patrick_L

    Patrick_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 1999
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes to all of your questions, Ron. that's a mighty big waste of hdd space if that's true.
     
  9. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Al
    It sounds like you did miss a partition. Using just the Windows partioning tools you could go back and make that space a "drive D:". Or, using a 3rd party tool like Partion Magic, you can really delete that partion and then expand the existing partion to use that space.

    However, you don't mention the problem you were trying to solve when you upgraded. If it anything to do with possible corruption, I'd start fresh. In fact, just to clean out the partion I'd start fresh anyway (but I'm obsessive like that).
     
  10. Patrick_L

    Patrick_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 1999
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    [​IMG]
     
  11. MichaelGH

    MichaelGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ron,
    It sounds to me like you may have forgotten to delete the original partition and created a new partition to install on instead, which means the original is still out there somewhere.

    A couple things:

    Go to Start->Programs->Control Panel
    Click Administrative Tools
    Click Computer Management
    Click Disk management

    You should be able to view all the hard disk and all partitions that are there (Since you mentioned you only see 40 gb out of 80, you'll be able to tell if there's a second partition out there). If so, you can either a) reinstall the OS to delete all partitions and re-install on a single 80gb partition, b) use a program like partition magic to combine the missing partition back into your primary XP pro partition, or c) just format the missing partition into a D: drive which you could then use as a work/data area.

    To edit the boot.ini file:

    Right click on My Computer and select properties. Click Advanced and then click the Startup and Recovery button. You'll see a section of the popup window that says "To edit the startup file options manually, click Edit"...Click the Edit button. Remove the line that says Windows XP Home, save the file, close the file...next time you reboot you should go right into XP Pro.

    Hope that helped a bit.
    Michael
     
  12. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah you dont have to reformat again, just go to disk management like MichaelGH said and you should be able to see everything there,just right click the partition and format the one you want, dont mess with the new boot partition.
     
  13. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,230
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Guys,

    Thank You so much. Great information here
    and detailed enough that an idiot like me
    can do it.

    I'll go ahead and print this out.
     
  14. Aaron Gould

    Aaron Gould Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Aaron Gould
    I'm late checking back with this thread, but it looks like the other guys filled in the blanks! Happy to help out...
     

Share This Page