What's new

Affordable HT (1 Viewer)

ZachW

Stunt Coordinator
I'm really new to home theater and am trying to talk my dad into getting something. He doesn't want to spend too much, less than $1500 hopefully. I was thinking about the Denon AVR-2802 Receiver, or maybe the 1803, the Adire Dharman for the subwoofer, and maybe the polk 6200 series or JBL NSP-1 speakers. Does that sound good? Or does anybody have any better suggestions? Would the JBL's be about as good as the Polk, I'm leaning towards them since they're cheaper. Any help would be great. thanks

Pablo Abularach

Supporting Actor
Zack,

I think you are in the right track, my suggestion is

Under $1000 (complete HT)
Receiver: DENON 1803 $ 450
Speakers: NSP1 $209
Subwoofer: SONY SA-WM40 $150
TOTAL = $809 + Shipping ($90) = about $900

For $1500 (complete HT)
Speakers = JBL S26 $170 x (2) + S center 141 = $481
Subwoofer = SVS 25-31PCi = $550
Reciever = DENON 1803 $450
TOTAL = $1481 + Shipping ($120) = about $1600

JBL has very good speakers for the money in the Northbrige or Studio series. Any of those two sets would be a great set.

Hope this helps,
Pablo Abularach

ZachW

Stunt Coordinator
What do you think about the Dharman for the sub? I really wanted this sub, but if you don't think it will be as good then should I get something else? thanks

Steve Zimmerman

Second Unit
Zach, the Dharman is a very capable subwoofer and depending on your room size may be perfect for your needs.

--Steve

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
Zach,

The Dharman should be an excellent sub for you. I think it would be fairly comparable to the SVS and leagues ahead ahead of the Sony.

Brian

Joe Szott

Screenwriter
Real Name
Joe S.
Zach,

That NSP-1 package from JBL is a great deal for the price. if price is a concern, I would do that first thing. For a receiver, you have a few options, here's some to check out:

* Harman Kardon 325 (or 125?)
* Denon 1803
* Outlaw 1050