What's new

Aerosmith SACD wont play in 5.1! Am I doing something wrong? (1 Viewer)

Jesse Sharrow

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
745
I have a pioneer dvd 563 a. I just bought the aerosmith SACD and it only plays in 2.0! I have no sub and no center and I get a weird feedback in the center channel. Now I just put in Beatoven and it plays in 5.1 but it still has that same feedback in the center. What am I doing wrong. This is the second pioneer dvd audio player that has done this. Is it maybe the cables Im using... im using car audio analog audio cables to send the signal. Would that do it? This is driving me crazy! I hope I dont have to get a new player. Becuase the next step is a yamaha or denon for alot more money.
 

Mike Keith

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
324
Make sure that your DVD setup (DVD Menu) has the DTS set to DTS and DD 5.1 Set to DD 5.1, this way it will not automatically route all multi-channel discs through the internal DAC's. I had this same problem and found out that my DVD player was processing the SACD through the internal DAC's which would send the 2-ch PCM version through the Digital Coax connection instead of the 6-CH Analog out. Your DVD Menu may be different, but I would bet it has something to do with the DVD menu setup Audio portion.
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John
Did you check the disc to make sure it isn't a stereo only SACD? Not ALL SACDs are multichannel.

Car audio analog cables should make no difference, but if the cables are damaged, that could be it. Try swapping the cables around and see if it follows the cable.

What Mike mentions sounds incorrect, as nearly all SACDs have a CD layer that will be passed as PCM via the digital connection - this is not a downmixed version of the SACD layer, stereo or m/c. I haven't heard of any players that will convert SACD to PCM and pass it via digital. Those players that do the PCM conversion for bass management still pass the signal via analog. He is correct however that you should check your settings to see that the correct output is set (if available) for SACD.

Also check your player to see if there is a setting for track priority for SACD - M/C, 2ch or CD.
 

dpippel

Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Premium
Joined
Feb 24, 2000
Messages
10,419
Location
Sonora Norte
Real Name
Doug

A lot of newer SACD releases are hybrids, but the vast majority are single-layer only.
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John

Most of the recent (what one would call popular, I suppose) releases I've seen have been hybrids, with the exception of a few select artists (meaning not Classical, Jazz, etc...). In general, I prefer the 2ch tracks to the M/C mixes anyway :D
 

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
3,168
Don't worry Jesse, I'm here to provide more confusing information for you to deal with. :D

1) Don't hold me to this but I vaguely remember someone here saying that when they chose "no center" on their own 563, theirs also produced a crackling sound (but no music) through the center channel. Excuse the technical lingo :) but that player's hi-res b.m. system really sucks rocks.

I'm beginning to think Pioneer's engineers had lots and lots of pressure to get a budget-priced universal out the door as quickly as possible. Such messy equipment operating characteristics aren't normal for that company's products.

2) Aerosmith's Toys In The Attic sacd does have a surround track--I know because I own that Rolling Stone sampler with the excellently mixed "Walk This Way" 5.1 track on it. And another member here, Justin Lane (usually he hangs out mostly in the Music forum), has spoken of how much he likes that entire Aerosmith sacd & especially its surround tracks.

Hope this helps.

LJ
 

Brian L

Premium
Joined
Jul 8, 1998
Messages
3,187


You can add me to the list of those that think TITA is killer in 5.1. That is what hard rock is supposed to sound like, IMHO.

And I do think I read that the 563 did something weird with no center configured.

BGL
 

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
3,168
Hey Jesse, I went and performed a little test on a 563 & found a couple weird things but you'll have to check your private messages for the results (if possible I want somebody else to verify these findings--maybe "my" unit was defective).

LJ
 

dpippel

Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Premium
Joined
Feb 24, 2000
Messages
10,419
Location
Sonora Norte
Real Name
Doug
John - I was just trying to point out that most SACD releases on the shelf now are single layer. And I'm with you - I prefer 2 channel and rarely listed to the MC mixes on any of my high-res music.
 

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
3,168

So this sacd must be Aerosmith's Just Push Play or O, Yeah! Ultimate Aerosmith Hits album.

Because according to SA-CD.net these albums are stereo only.

And, I'm assuming the ".1" channel is being generated by the player's b.m. system.

LJ
 

Andy_Hamric

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
54
I only own two SACDs so far (and am glad they're hybrid 'cause I don't have my SACD player yet). They're both classical and they both clearly state on the package that they are both Stereo and Multichannel. Don't all SACDs show which they are? (Mine are classical music SACDs.)
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John
Yes, all SACDs will say stereo or multi-channel, and if they are not hybrid, they will generally say something to the effect of "will not play on regular CD players, SACD player required".
 

ClintS

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
169


As someone mentioned above it is playing in 2.0. And neither of my receivers will allow bass management for the multichannel analog inputs so I get no sub on stereo SACD. That is why I am going to upgrade to full size towers for my front two channels. Are you sure you were getting the .1 channel? If so what type of setup was it?
 

Alan Wise

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
236
Thanks for this thread Jesse!
It answers some questions that I came up with Sunday after connecting and testing my new Denon AVR-3805/DVD-2900 combination.
Saturday night the wife and I bought two SACD's and two DVD-A's to test the system. Sunday, when all was ready to rock and roll, I put in my new Santana Abraxys SACD, and low and behold it only plays through the mains. I have the six analog cables connected correctly. I have my receiver set to "EXT IN". The little light on the 2900 that signifies SACD is lit. But no multichannel. I swapped out the Santana Disk for the Neil Young Harvest DVD-A, and bang, multichannel coolness.
When I used the link from John Garcia, SA-CD.Net, it shows that this Santana SACD is in stereo, on a single layer disk.
If this does indeed mean no multichannel, I will make certain in the future to look more carefully when buying my media.
Again, thanks Jesse for starting this thread.


Al. Wise
 

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 24, 1999
Messages
11,571
Location
NorCal
Real Name
John
Yep, what Scott said. Look carefully, but don't pass up a disc because it is stereo. As I said before, on nearly every SACD I have, I prefer the 2ch track, so stereo only SACDs don't bother me.

(LanceJ provided the link, not me :) )
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
349,076
Messages
4,867,868
Members
142,474
Latest member
suzook
Recent bookmarks
0
Top