1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Advise about BenQ PB6100 digital projector and my theater setup

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Brian Stash, Aug 2, 2004.

1. Brian Stash

Brian Stash Auditioning

Hello All,

I've recently read an article in Money magazine about digital projectors and was thinking of purchasing a BenQ PB6100. I'm completely new to this whole digital projector world and have been doing much research about them. I really love watching movies at home.

I can buy the PB6100 on buy.com for:
    $898
    -$100
    (If buy.com is an 'authorized reseller' using the rebate from Ben Q.... any info about this??)
    - 27 if I use their credit card
    Total
    $771 (no taxes and free shipping) ( great price for a brand new unit)

Let me give you my setup currently:

The room I want to put this in is my 19X17 living room. (No basement... 1 level house) with 4 windows. (I have shades and blinds; do you think this will be a problem with the ambient light? I’ll just be watching normal TV during the day, doing my movie watching at night) I will be projecting onto an off while flat paint wall. I guess I'll be sitting this on a shelf about 6 foot high and about 18 feet from the wall I want to project on. The wall area is about 8X8 and the couch will sit about 13 feet back.

Toshiba 42h82 42' wide screen HD TV (wish I would have never dropped the 1200 bucks on this if I knew about these)
    Sony STR-DE-685 Receiver
    Sony DVP-NC655P 5 disc progressive scan DVD Player
    Sony CDP-CX355 300 disc CD player
    COX Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8000HD Digital Video Recorder Cable Box (Component Video Output, but thinking of scrapping it due to only having 5 HD channels, BUT damn do they look great)

Crappy KLH HTA-9006 5 speaker Home-Theater Speaker System with 8 inch powered subwoofer
    2 Kenwood KVS-400 speakers with 2 8 inch subwoofers in each