Advice

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Carl Gaff, Apr 29, 2003.

  1. Carl Gaff

    Carl Gaff Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    My son is currently in the process of building a new computer for me (he does computer stuff and I do home theater stuff). I'm having him install a good video card and a large hard drive so I can record TV broadcasts.

    Here's my dilemma: My computer is in one room and my Mitsubishi big screen is in another. What's the best (meaning easiest)way to get the signal from my computer to my tv so I can watch my pre-recorded shows?

    Any help would be greatly appriciated.

    Carl Gafford
     
  2. David_N

    David_N Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I used to use my PC record TV in the other room I just used a long cable. It worked for me since I could run the cable behind furniture so it wasn't easily visible. But you could always drill some holes through walls.[​IMG]
     
  3. Carl Gaff

    Carl Gaff Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info Dave. What type of cable did you run?

    Carl
     
  4. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a 50ft Svid cable for my run to the Living from the computer (with a 50ft RCA cable for digi-coax) and then for the Living room to the computer I used a RCA->coax converter box and use the TV tuner in my comp to pick up the second room output.
     
  5. Carl Gaff

    Carl Gaff Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rob. I was leaning towards your solution since I have a couple of extra Camelot s-video amps lying around. I hate the thought of crawling around in the attic (isulation)again, but for a good picture I guess it's worth it.

    Carl
     

Share This Page