What's new

Advice on JBL S36II (on sale $150/pr) (1 Viewer)

EricJD

Auditioning
Please bear with me, I am new to HT and Audio and have tried to gleam information from other threads. Any advice is appreciated.

I currently have JBL MR26 bookshelf speakers up front and some KLH center/surrounds that I got for free with my receive 8yrs ago. I just upgraded my receiver to a Marantz 5300 and was looking at getting some new surrounds and center speaker.

The JBL S36IIPM are on sale a Best Buy for $150/pr and was considering picking them up. Should I put the S36's up front and then move the MR26 to the back or should I replace the MR26 and use the new speakers front and back. Also, from other threads it seems the S-Center is impossible to find and so I might want to get a 3rd pair to use as the center front and center surround. (or use the MR26 as a center?)

I also have a 10" BassCube from cambridge soundworks.
This is mainly for Home Theater usage. I currently listen at -25db from reference and am looking for a more unified sound.
Am I going to want to upgrade the front speakers to larger floor models at a latter date? or will the S36 plus sub keep me happy?

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Your safest bet for perfect timbre match from front to back is 3 pairs of the S36IIs, using them as mains, surrounds, 1 as center, and one as back-center since your 5300 has the decoding and amplification for a surround-back channel. Identical speakers all around is prefferable to a "timbre matched" center speaker since nothing could be a better match for a particular main speaker than another of the same speaker! You could probably get away w/ using hte MR26s as surrounds without much noticable mis-match in front-to-back pans, but I would definitely go with an S36II as your center to match the mains, especially since you can't find the S-Center anymore.