Advice on Home Theater system

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brad Gable, Nov 4, 2002.

1. Brad Gable

Brad Gable Extra

Hi All,

I am new to the Home Theater arena and would like some advice. I have been doing some research and am planning to buy some components for a Home Theater system. Below is a list of what I think I want. I would like to know if the system I am proposing is good or is there another way to go. Also I would like to know if anyone has had problems with any of the stuff listed.

Pioneer Elite PRO-720HD 64" Rear Projection TV
    Yamaha RX-V1 receiver
    Pioneer Elite DVD 45a
    B & W 604 S3 speakers for the front
    B & W LCR 600 for the center
    B & W LCR 60 for the rears
    B & W 675 sub.

Thanks for the help.

Brad

2. Darren Mortensen

Darren Mortensen Stunt Coordinator

Brad,

You and I will get along great. B&W speakers are awesome with warm and accurate audio reproduction. They will last you a lifetime. The Yamaha receiver is bullet proof, and will accompany the B&W's beautifully!

You may want to checkout the SVS line of true subwoofers to mate with the B&W's for the best in low freq. effects.

I cannot comment on the monitor or DVD player. But I have had Yamaha and B&W products for seven years...Yamaha is quick to respond to any issues or problems, as well as B&W authorities!

3. Gary Thomas

Gary Thomas Second Unit

Brad...wow! That's a kick-_ss system!

As an owner of the 720's little brother, the Pioneer Elite 610, I can highly recommend it. The build quality and aesthetics alone make a serious statement. I recommend that you have a trained ISF technicion calibrate your new set. He will help you dial in the correct picture settings. (I think I read that Pioneer is coming out with a 730 soon)