What's new

Advice on Home Theater system (1 Viewer)

Brad Gable

Grip
Hi All,

I am new to the Home Theater arena and would like some advice. I have been doing some research and am planning to buy some components for a Home Theater system. Below is a list of what I think I want. I would like to know if the system I am proposing is good or is there another way to go. Also I would like to know if anyone has had problems with any of the stuff listed.

Pioneer Elite PRO-720HD 64" Rear Projection TV
Yamaha RX-V1 receiver
Pioneer Elite DVD 45a
B & W 604 S3 speakers for the front
B & W LCR 600 for the center
B & W LCR 60 for the rears
B & W 675 sub.

Thanks for the help.

Brad

Darren Mortensen

Stunt Coordinator
Brad,

You and I will get along great. B&W speakers are awesome with warm and accurate audio reproduction. They will last you a lifetime. The Yamaha receiver is bullet proof, and will accompany the B&W's beautifully!

You may want to checkout the SVS line of true subwoofers to mate with the B&W's for the best in low freq. effects.

I cannot comment on the monitor or DVD player. But I have had Yamaha and B&W products for seven years...Yamaha is quick to respond to any issues or problems, as well as B&W authorities!

Gary Thomas

Second Unit
Brad...wow! That's a kick-_ss system!

As an owner of the 720's little brother, the Pioneer Elite 610, I can highly recommend it. The build quality and aesthetics alone make a serious statement. I recommend that you have a trained ISF technicion calibrate your new set. He will help you dial in the correct picture settings. (I think I read that Pioneer is coming out with a 730 soon)

I've not heard or read a lot about B&W subwoofers. There are lots of great subs to check out from SVS, HSU, Paradigm, and Energy. I've had 3 of those 4, plus a great little sub from Klipsch & can recommend all of them.

Have fun setting it up...don't be afraid to ask for help!

Brad Gable

Grip