What's new

Advice on DVD recorder (1 Viewer)

David Wyckoff

Auditioning
Sorry, but I'm a rookie here, but I've been reading various forums here for a while. I apologize if this has been addressed elsewhere.
I'd love some advice. I want to get a DVD recorder. I have a Directv TIVO reciever and would be recording from that and possibly from some old VCR tapes. I am extremely confused by all the formats + and - which way to go? Is one gaining on the other in populatity? And which company is best? I don't think I need the hard drive as I'll be recording from TIVO. Should I wait until the double layered format comes out?
Are there any good buyer's guides on line with some kind of review?

Thanks for any help.

Rob Mac

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Rob
I read every magazine that did comparisons and the Panasonic E50 was the weapon of choice. I am quite happy with the quality. It is as easy as dubbing to a cassette deck. DVD-R seems to be the strongest format. The Panasonic also has DVD-Ram which is viewed as the least popular format. Did that affect my purchase? Nope. Re-writable discs are more expensive so I only use DVD-Ram disc to test whether a source can be copied or not. I buy brand name discs in jewel cases for less than $1.50 each (although I am sure you can get them for under a buck). Those who want to copy ANY tape or disc, get a PC with dvd burner.

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member