What's new

Advice for eager to learn newbie... (1 Viewer)

Gregg Pearson

Auditioning
I found this forum a few days ago and my mind is going nuts over all the information to be had. I am very new to this game and am looking for advice like every new person to this site. After doing some reading, how does this sound for a beginner?

Receiver: Onkyo DS595

Speaker Package of NSP1's

Subwoofer- PB10

Will this be a good start? If not, please advise me. I am on a limited budget as you can tell by my choices.

David_Stein

Second Unit
Real Name
David_Stein
im only about two weeks ahead of you on the learning curve, but thats almost exactly what i got, only i have the DS575x reciever. it sounds damn good to me, but then again, this is my first foray into this sort of thing as well. im listening to alice in chains' Dirt cd at the moment on 5 channel stereo mode. yummy

if you do end up getting them, buy the speakers from jandr.com or call them up. they will pricematch the 229.95 price from buy.com on the nsp1s, the sub is 199.95 and theres free shipping right now on jbl products

VinhT

Second Unit
The receiver and speaker package are excellent choices. As for the sub, if your main purpose is watching movies, then I'd advise you to read up on the Sony SA-WM40. It seems to be regarded as the absolute best for a budget sub, and costs about the same as the JBL PB-10. However, it's not so good for music due to its boominess(search for the Polyfill mod to learn how to tighten it up).

Basically, I think either of the subs will work just fine, and you've got a great home theater on your hands with plenty of money left over to splurge on movies.

Gregg Pearson

Auditioning