ADVC-1394 problem

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Rob Gillespie, May 16, 2003.

  1. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bit confused about this thing. I've got the card installed, it was detected and installed OK automatically.

    I try and perform an capture from LD in Vegas Video (it's the 3.0 LE version). All seems ok until I stop the capture and try different settings or another titles, or whatever. Then I get a totally blank capture screen, as if the card itself has turned off. Nothing. Not even audio.

    The system seems to think it's a digital camcorder, with play, pause, forward buttons etc - and the playing time clock in the software never stops advancing - as if it thinks a 'tape' is playing all the time. There are no settings I can see to get the think working again - I have to power off the PC and start up again (simply rebooting doesn't work).

    I've gotta say, for a product at this price level I was expecting maybe just a bit of documentation but there's basically nothing other than an installation guide. The WinProducer software that came with it is total crap and while Vegas seems a bit friendlier there is still precious little information.

    But that aside - why the blank screen?
     
  2. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you changed the size of the image, that could be the problem. Exactly what settings did you change? DV is one set standard 720x480(720x576 PAL) 3.5MB/s
     
  3. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My earlier post sounds a bit misleading. The problem happens when the stop button (in the software) is clicked. It looks like it thinks it's controlling a camcorder and when stop is pressed it can't find a way of connecting properly to the device again.

    I asked aboutt this over on DVDrHelp.com and someone came back saying it was an issue with Windows Xp and the card. It's not critical - I can close the window and save the files without the lockout happening, so it's just an annoyance really.
     
  4. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I'm guessing it is simulating a digital camcorder, and it locks up because it doesn't recieve an acknowlege

    There's probably more documentation on Canopus' web site
     
  5. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a known issue, alledgedly.

    I'm just trying a little freeware app called WinDV which does audio and video capture but without all the fuss. The .exe file is a whopping 92kb in size.
     

Share This Page