Adding wifi router to existing wired home network

Discussion in 'Computers' started by NickSo, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Okay, so I just purchased a Wifi router online (D-Link 802.11b , dunno model off by heart) hoping to add wireless to my network for me and my dad's laptops.

    I have an existing router im using now whcih is a basic wired router.

    Im wondering how I could set the WiFi router to interaface with the existing router and act as an access point? I imagine iw ould have to daisy chain the Wifi router with the existing wired router.

    So hardware wise, would it be like this?
    DSL Modem -> (WAN IN) Wired Router (LAN OUT) -> (WAN IN) Wireless Router

    and (just in general, as i do not have the router yet) how would i go about setting the router up software-wise so i can turn off any firewall/port blocking etc functions and make it act like an access point? Would it be possible for the computers running through the wireless router to be on the same LAN as the ones on the Wired Route

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Okay, so I just purchased a Wifi router online (D-Link 802.11b , dunno model off by heart) hoping to add wireless to my network for me and my dad's laptops.

    I have an existing router im using now whcih is a basic wired router.

    Im wondering how I could set the WiFi router to interaface with the existing router and act as an access point? I imagine iw ould have to daisy chain the Wifi router with the existing wired router.

    So hardware wise, would it be like this?
    DSL Modem -> (WAN IN) Wired Router (LAN OUT) -> (WAN IN) Wireless Router

    and (just in general, as i do not have the router yet) how would i go about setting the router up software-wise so i can turn off any firewall/port blocking etc functions and make it act like an access point? Would it be possible for the computers running through the wireless router to be on the same LAN as the ones on the Wired Route

    Thanks in advance
     
  3. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    EZ-Lan.net has your answer, click on the last link at the bottom of the right hand pane.
     
  4. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    EZ-Lan.net has your answer, click on the last link at the bottom of the right hand pane.
     
  5. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    greeeaaat! [​IMG] thx
     
  6. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    greeeaaat! [​IMG] thx
     

Share This Page